Skip to main content

Kirkwood logo

"Mother" LibGuide: Faculty Services

A master LibGuide containing links for almost all other libguide content.

SDV-119:Information Literacy Class

(SDV-119): The library offers a one credit-hour course providing basic instruction in using the library as an access point to information.The student will develop methodology to master the process of inquiry and improve their ability to find, evaluate and use information.

Please encourage your students to take this class. You can search for this course on EagleNet. The syllabus is posted below. 

Iowa City AV On This Page

Welcome Faculty!

The Library offers so many resources and services to our faculty, we need several pages just to show you! Here is a preview of the kinds of information and services you will find described on these pages. Click on the tabs at the top of this page to access each of these topics:

faculty services outline

Library Catalog, Databases, and Book Collection

Kirkwood Library Services has a wide array of materials available to students, faculty, and staff, both on and off campus. Books and other physical materials held by the Cedar Rapids or Iowa City Libraries can be searched using the WorldCat Discovery search, and can be delivered to any Kirkwood location. All resources are searchable from Kirkwood Library's homepage, www.kirkwood.edu/library.

Instruction Request

Kirkwood librarians can support student learning in a number of different ways. Besides providing information resources and helping students one-on-one in the Library, librarians can also do demonstrations or present activities to your classes. To schedule any of the following, or to discuss the needs of your students with a librarian, please use one of the forms at the bottom of this box:

  • A tour of the Library, or show students a particular collection (e.g. ELA books or art books).
  • A presentation or activity in your classroom on a specific topic. To name just a few possible topics: citing sources, searching library databases, searching Google effectively, critical evaluation of information. We are happy to collaborate with faculty on creating an effective activity or assignment to help students gain specific research skills relevant to your course.
  • A presentation or activity in the Cedar Rapids Library classroom, which seats 24 students, has a ceiling projector, and a set of laptops. Please call the reference desk at ext. 5697 to check availability of the classroom.

Please request library instruction by using the appropriate online form:
Iowa City Campus

Cedar Rapids Campus|County Centers| Distance Learning

One on One Help: Reference Service

Kirkwood Library Services provides excellent and professional reference service to students, faculty, and staff in a number of different ways:

  • Stop by the Cedar Rapids or Iowa City Campus Libraries during our regular desk hours (until 9pm at the CR campus, until 8pm at the IC campus).
  • Make an appointment with a librarian for an extended consultation about your research project.
  • Use the "Ask a Librarian" chat function, available from the Library homepage, and from most of the LibGuides pages, for quick and timely help.

LibGuides: Personalized Course Library Resources Page

The page you're looking at right now was created using a software system called "LibGuides". It features flexible layout, easy updating, and reusable components. The content can also be embedded directly into your Talon courses. If you'd like a page with resources especially for your students, contact a librarian and we'll collaborate with you on locating the best resources for your particular assignments and in designing a page that fits your students' needs.

Examples of some customized pages for Kirkwood classes:

Marianne Taylor, Forms of Literature: Poetry

Global Perspectives in Interior Design

The page we create for your class can feature:

  • Direct links to library resources such as the book catalog or any of the subscription databases
  • Direct links to other online resources you want to direct your students to
  • Pages or boxes from any of the library LibGuides pages, embedded directly into your page so your students know the resources are instructor-approved. For example, we could put a tab on your page called "MLA Style" that will include videos on MLA Citation as well as printable guides.
  • Links that won't "go bad." Because they link directly into the library's pages, if we update a link to a database, the link on your page will automatically update as well
  • Your LibGuides page can be embedded directly into many types of course sites, including Talon.

Contact a librarian for more details, or to get started on your own LibGuide. In Cedar Rapids contact Ryan Strempke-Durgin (x5687); in Iowa City contact Kate Hess (x3619)

Purchase Request

We value your input on the purchase of library materials. Please send your recommendation using the form below.

Purchase Request Form

Placing holds & Campus mail delivery

As a Kirkwood faculty, you can access almost all Library resources from your office. In addition to the wealth of digital resources you can access through our databases, you can also search for books and DVDs held by both campus Libraries, and have those items delivered to your campus mail box. 
  1. Begin by searching WorldCat from the Library's homepage. You can enter keywords for topic, title, author, or a combination of these in the search box, then select the "Books" tab to see just the book results, and click "Go". For a more precise title search, put quotation marks around the title. (For a video introducing WorldCat click here!) 
     
  2. Click on the title of the item you're interested in to see the detailed record.
     
  3. From the detailed record screen, you can see a description of the item [F], the campus or library location [G], and the Request Center Delivery button [H]. Click this button to request that a book be delivered to your campus or center for you. For faculty requests, we will automatically check the book out to you and put it in campus mail to your office. (If, instead of "Request Center Delivery" you see "Request This" on the blue button, you can still request the book, it will just be ordered through Interlibrary Loan, and will take longer to arrive. See InterLibrary Loan for more details.)

     
  4. You will be prompted to sign in with your k number (e.g. k0123456) and EagleNet password.
     
  5. Then choose your pickup location from the dropdown menu [J] and click "Submit." 
  6. If you need any assistance in locating the right book for your research needs, please contact a librarian by chat or phone (see "Ask a Librarian" to the left).

Happy reading!

Faculty Research Consultation

We are happy to help you with library research for your teaching, research, and professional development needs. If you are currently working on or will be working on such an endeavor we can schedule a face to face meeting with you to determine where to obtain relevant materials.  Because of the complexity of such requests, we have found that the face to face interview approach generates the best results for all parties. 

Don’t hesitate, contact the Library reference desk and schedule an appointment today.

Cedar Rapids Campus Library
       E-mail
: library@kirkwood.edu
       Phone: 319-398-5697
       Toll-free 866-452-8504

Iowa City Campus Library
       E-mail:refdesk@kirkwood.edu
       Phone:319-887-3612

Placing Items on Course Reserves

Fill in the form below and bring it to the library together with your reserved items.
Please plan ahead and allow two business days for the library to process your request.

Contact us for questions and comments:

              Cedar Rapids Campus Library                                                                
              Phone: 319-887-5696                                           

              Email: circulation@kirkwood.edu
                                        
              Iowa City Campus Library 

              Phone: 319-398-3613 
              Email: iclib@kirkwood.edu

Iowa City AV

Note: Cedar Rapids Campus faculty should call 319-398-5521 for AV questions. The information below is only applicable to Iowa City campus.

What's here: All Kirkwood classrooms on the Iowa City Campus are equipped with instructor’s tables with PCs and a ceiling-mounted projection system for instructor computer, personal laptop, and video presenter projection. All classrooms have powered speakers, DVD drives in the PC, and video presenters (aka document camera or ELMO).  Some classrooms have a Sympodium.

Most instructors’ tables include a printed set of instructions attached to one side of the table in a clear plastic sleeve. These instructions include the basics for successful operation of the equipment. The library conducts special training sessions for new faculty, and we are happy to orient individual instructors to equipment in their classrooms by appointment. Contact the library checkout desk at 887-3613 or iclib@kirkwood.edu.

What to do in case of problems: During daytime hours, call the main help desk at ext. 1264 if you experience problems with any of the equipment in your classroom.  They will start a ticket and dispatch a technician on campus.  After 6pm, contact the library checkout desk. Call ext. 3613 for immediate assistance, or email iclib@kirkwood.edu to report problems. There is a phone in every classroom.

To request special equipment: Contact the library at least 48 hours in advance to request special equipment for your classroom or for your professional use. The following are all available through the library:

  • Slide projector
  • CD player boom box
  • Public address system
  • Digital voice recorder
  • Digital camera
  • Laptop computer
  • Portable computer speaker
  • Portable DVP (projector)
  • Tripod screen 

Information Literacy: Articles and Videos

The Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) has created a new (2016) document to guide librarians and faculty in how to support student learning of information literacy skills and habits of thought and practice. Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education outlines core ideas or threshold concepts that can be used to guide the creation of experiences or assignments in any class requiring the use of information. (This document replaces the Information Literacy Competency Standards that had been widely used since 2000, but in practice was difficult to translate into day to day work with students.)

Some great reads by Barbara Fister, from her Library Babel Fish column in Inside Higher Ed:

Project Information Literacy is a series of ongoing "research studies that investigate what it is like being a college student in the digital age," to understand how today's students use information, what their needs are, what strategies they use. These videos each give a entre into research conducted by this group. To find out more, visit their website.

VOD (Video on Demand) & Film Databases

For assistance with VOD, contact Scott Stiffler or Phil Meaney.

Videos placed in Kirkwood’s Video on Demand (VOD) collection are accessible through Talon’s Learning Object Repository (LOR). To add VOD to your Talon course, go to the Course Content section of your Talon site.

Course Content Selection Example

Select or create the module where you want to include the video. Next, click the Upload/Create button and from the dropdown menu that appears, select “Add Object from LOR.”

Add Object from LOR Example

In the search box that appears, type in a portion of the title you are looking for.

Search Title Example

If the title is available, it will display under the search box. Click the circle to select the video and then click the “Next” button.

A window will then appear asking how you want the object displayed in your Talon site. It is recommended that you select either “Dynamic Link” or “Copy as Content” that way if any changes are made to the existing link, you will not lose access.

After you click the “Next” button here, you will be asked if you want the video to open in a new window or tab. We recommend you check this box as some users may have difficulty opening the video within the Talon shell. Once you have selected this, click the “Create Topic” button, which will insert your VOD link into your selected module.

Click the created link to view the video.

If you are experiencing difficulty finding a video on VOD, contact Scott Stiffler from Master Control, as some videos may not be connected with LOR yet.

In order to remain copyright compliant, a film must be owned by Kirkwood or the instructor before it may be placed within VOD. Please contact the library@kirkwood.edu if you would like a DVD purchased for your class and  put on VOD by Media Services. A link will then be provided for you to place in Talon. 

Streaming videos are also provided by two available databases:

Note that VOD is not operated or maintained by the Library, and therefore, librarians may not be able to answer technical questions or problems you may be experiencing with the system.

Options for bringing Library content into Talon

We at Library Services want to give you many different ways to embed Library content into your Talon courses, so you can share the resources you choose directly with your students. Depending on the type of information you want to embed or link to, there are different ways to make it work. So first check the table below to see the types of content that can be embedded, then follow the link to the corresponding directions for how to do it. Please note, if you have content you would like to embed but don't see here, please let us know!

Content to embed or link to Method to follow
"Ask a Librarian" widget

Custom homepage OR

Embed code

Library Search (WorldCat Discovery search) Custom homepage
Library Guides (Links to the 3 most used LibGuides, plus a link to a list of all guides Custom homepage
Find Library Resources (widget with most common Library pages and resources, like a mini Library homepage embedded in your course content page) Embed code
Library Resources for ___________ (A list of the best Library databases for the subject of your choice) Embed code
Plagiarism Tutorial Copy components in Talon
MLA or APA citation style help guides Talon LOR
Link to a single article, ebook, or ebook chapter Create a link
Your choice of specific pages and databases to share Create a module in Talon

 

Library Tutorials in Talon

Library Services has created our first Talon-based tutorial for faculty to use in their own courses. It is a tutorial on plagiarism, that includes interactive videos, text-based instruction, and short quizzes to check understanding. If you have any questions about this tutorial, or need any help copying it into your own Talon courses, please contact librarians Kate Hess or Ryan Strempke-Durgin.

DIRECTIONS

  1. First, request access to the Talon course “Library Tutorials” by contacting librarians Kate Hess or Ryan Strempke-Durgin.
  2. Once you have access, the Library Tutorials course will show up in your list of Talon courses, and you may preview the plagiarism tutorial content. To copy content in your own course, continue with the following steps:
  3. From your own course where you want to assign a Library Tutorial module, go to “Course Admin.”
  4. Click on “Import/Export/Copy Components.”
  5. Select “copy components from another course/org unit” and click on the button “search for offering.”
  6. Search for “library tutorials”, then select it and click “add selected.”
  7. Click the button “Select Components.” On this page you’ll select 3 things:
    • Select “Content” and “Select individual items to copy”
    • Select Question Library
    • Select Quizzes
    • Select Surveys
    • Then “Continue.”
  8. Select “Plagiarism”, then “continue.”
  9. Click “Finish.”

Please note: Because you have made a copy of the content and put it in your course, you are now free to edit or delete any portions of each tutorial, customizing to the needs of your students. Also, we may occasionally make updates to the tutorial, and will email you a notification in that case.

Custom Homepage Widgets in Talon

To embed homepage widgets in your course, you must use the “Custom Home Page” option in Talon, which gives you access to many widgets, only a few of which are related to Library resources:

  1. If you don't already use the Custom Home Page option for your course(s), follow the directions in the Talon Instructor Training course in Talon, Module 3: Course Homepage and Widgets, and see both “Customizing your Homepage” and “System and Custom Widgets.” You must repeat this process for each course where you want to use homepage widgets.
  2. As of this writing, there are 5 widgets for Library resources:
    1. “Library Contact,” which adds an “Ask a Librarian” live chat box, along with contact phone numbers and emails for Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Campus Libraries.
    2.  “Library Search,” which adds the WorldCat search box, just as it appears on the Library Homepage.
    3. Two different versions of links to Library subscription databases: “A to Z List” (alphabetical list of all databases) and “Library Databases” (a link to the list of all databases plus direct links to the 7 most popular databases).
    4. “Library Guides,” a box with links to our most used LibGuides pages, as well as a link to the LibGuides search page.

Embed Codes for Course Content Widgets

This method of embedding widgets into your Talon courses has you copy and paste the embed code for the widgets you want to use into a module or sub-module description.

1. On Talon, create a module or sub-module where you want a widget to show up. In order for the widget to show up on the Course Content page (and not require students to follow a link to see it) only one widget per module or sub-module may be embedded. 

2. In the Course Content table of contents along the left side of the screen, click on the name of the module or sub-module you just created, then click below the title of the module, on "Add a description..." Now click on the "Insert stuff" button that looks like this: 

and click on "Enter Embed Code."

3. Now come back to this Faculty Servcies LibGuide page, and select, then copy, the embed code for the widget you want to embed. The sample images below show what the widget will look like, and the embed code is what you copy and paste.

4. Now go back to your Talon page and paste into the "Enter Embed Code" box. Click "Next," then "Insert," then "Update." 

Available Widgets

Please note: You can create a widget from any box or page of content anywhere within the Library's LibGuides pages. Just email Kate Hess or Ryan Strempke-Durgin in the Library and let us know what box you want embedded in your Talon, and we'll send you the embed code. 

Small preview:

Embed code:

<iframe width="100%" height="300" scrolling="yes"
style="border: 1px solid #bbb; border-radius: 4px;
" src="//lgapi-us.libapps.com/widget_box.php?site_id
=3724&amp;widget_type=8&amp;output_format
=2&amp;widget_title=Ask+a+Librarian&amp;widget_
height=300&amp;widget_width=100%25&amp;
widget_embed_type=1&amp;guide_id=435839&amp;
box_id=9135892&amp;map_id=10768313&amp;content
_only=0&amp;config_id=1493308232965">

</iframe>

<iframe width="100%" height="500" scrolling="yes"
style="border: 1px solid #bbb; border-radius: 4px;"
src="//lgapi-us.libapps.com/widget_box.php?site_id
=3724&amp;widget_type=8&amp;output_format
=2&amp;widget_title=Find+Library+Resources&amp;
widget_height=500&amp;widget_width=100%25&amp;
widget_embed_type=1&amp;guide_id=435839&amp;
box_id=9135952&amp;map_id=10768331&amp;content_only
=0&amp;config_id=1493049832249">

</iframe>

 

Library Databases for Nursing-related Topics

<script>
springshare_widget_config_1503346274435 = { path: 'assets' };
</script>
<div id="s-lg-widget-1503346274435"></div>
<script>!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)
[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById
(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=p+"://lgapi-us.libapps.
com/widgets.php?site_id=3724&widget_type=2&search_terms
=&search_match=
2&subject_ids%5B0%5D=31961&sort_by=name&list_format=
1&drop_text=Select+a+Database...&output_format=2&load_
type=2&enable_description=0&widget_title=A-Z+Database+
List&widget_height=450&widget_width=100%
25&widget_link_color=2954d1&widget_embed_type=1&num
_results=0&enable_more_results=1&window_target=2&config
​_id=1503346274435";fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,"script","s-lg-widget-script-1503346274435");</script>
   

Using LOR (Learning Object Repository) in Talon for Library content

Library Services has created content pulled from our online help guides (LibGuides) for faculty use in their Talon courses, through the Talon LOR (Learning Object Repository). If you have any questions about this process, need any help, or have suggestions for additional Library content for the Talon LOR, please contact Kate Hess or Ryan Strempke-Durgin at the Library.

DIRECTIONS

  1. From your Talon course, create or go to the module where you want to place the Library help guide.

  2. Click the “Upload / Create” button, and select “Add Object from LOR”

  3. In the search box type in “Library” to see all available learning objects created by the Library, or search for the topic you want (e.g. MLA or APA).

  4. You may click on the title of an object to preview it, or you can select it by clicking on the circle. Then click “Next”.

  5. Talon then gives you 3 options for how to use the content. We recommend the “Dynamic Link to Newest Version”. This means that if the Library needs to update any content in the object, yours will also be automatically updated. You may alternatively choose to “Copy as Content,” which allows you to make changes to the content to fit the needs of your students.
  6. Click “Next.”
  7. Click “Create Topic.” The learning object should now be showing in your course.

Linking to Articles in Library Databases

To place a direct link to a database article into Talon (or any other website, PowerPoint, etc.), it is essential that you use the persistent URL or "permalink" to that article, which each database will provide you with. This permalink can then be copy and pasted just like any other link. Please note, copy and pasting from the browser's address box will result in a broken link. If you have any trouble finding the permalink for an article, see the examples below for several of our most used databases, or contact the Library for help.

  1. Find the persistent URL
  2. Check for the Off-Campus Access Prefix https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url= 
  3. Copy and paste
  4. Test your link!

1. Find the persistent URL

To point your students directly to an article, e-book or e-book chapter in a database, always look for the persistent URL or "permalink" provided by the database. Do not copy and paste from your browser's address box. Listed below are directions of linking articles from major databases.

  • EBSCOhost databases: Click the article title and look for “Permalink” on the right of your screen.

  • Newsstand (ProQuest)

    Click "Details" below the article title.



    Then look for “Document URL” at the bottom of your screen.




     
  • Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Opposing Viewpoints: Scroll down to the very bottom of the page, and copy the URL as it is given in the citation.


     
  • CQ Research: Click the article title and look for “Document URL” at the bottom of your screen. (Off-campus prefix needed. See step #2 below.)

  • DSM-IV-TR Manual: Always use http://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=http://psychiatryonline.org/book.aspx?bookid=22 as the link to get to the main DSM-IV-TR page. To link to chapters in the book, use be sure to use the off-campus prefix ( https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url= ) in front of the URL you see once you click to the chapter. This is true for all resources from Psychiatry Online. 

2. Check for the Off-Campus Access Prefix ( https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url= )

Many databases, such as EBSCOhost and ProQuest automatically add the proxy prefix ( https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url= ) in their persistent URLs.  If you do not see the proxy information, you need to manually add it. See the example below.

3. Copy and paste the URL into Talon

You can create a link in almost any section of Talon. However, the links tend to work best, and can be most easily found again later if you need to change or test the link, if you add it as its own new item with the "Upload/Create", "Create a Link" function.

4. Always test your link before making it available to students!

Linking to Ebooks

You can link an ebook in EBSCOhost directly into your website, Powerpoint presentation, email, or Talon.

Linking to an entire book

  • Click on the "Permalink" link along the right side of the book's detailed record screen then copy and paste the URL.

 


Linking to a chapter or a page of an ebook 

  • Go to the first page of the chapter or section you want to link to.
  • Click the Permalink button along the right side of the page (the icon of chain links)
  • Copy and paste the URL to share.

About Credo InfoLit Tutorials

Library Services provides access to a collection of tutorials designed to teach basic research and information literacy skills to students. Topics include:

  • Getting started with research
  • Sources of information
  • Searching for information
  • Evaluating information
  • Presenting research and data
  • Citations and academic integrity

There are two basic things for faculty to know about this resource:

1) This resource is available to any Kirkwood faculty, staff, or student through this link. If you are off campus you will be asked to enter your k number and password: https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/course/

2) There are 3 different ways that faculty can share or assign specific parts of the tutorials with students: through direct links, through embed codes, and through integration and gradebook syncing with Talon using LTI links. The second page of this LibGuide is dedicated to showing faculty how to use each of these 3 methods.

Please contact the Library if you have any questions about this resource, or would like assistance in sharing or assigning parts of the tutorial with students.

Credo InfoLit for Faculty: Suggestions for Using the Modules

This module from Credo InfoLit introduces some basic approaches to use of the modules with students. For detailed instructions on adding modules to your Talon course, please see this LibGuide page, or ask a Kirkwood librarian for help.

Credo InfoLit: Faculty Modules

These modules from Credo InfoLit introduce some basic approaches to use of the modules with students, including ideas for which modules can be used for certain common student learning objectives. For detailed instructions on adding modules to your Talon course, please see this LibGuide page, or ask a Kirkwood librarian for help.

Credo InfoLit for Faculty: Guide to Teaching with the Modules

This module from Credo InfoLit outlines some ideas for which modules can be used to address certain common student learning objectives. For detailed instructions on adding modules to your Talon course, please see this LibGuide page, or ask a Kirkwood librarian for help.

Choosing a method of sharing Credo InfoLit content

The table below compares the three methods for sharing Credo InfoLit content so you can choose the method that will work best for your needs. You'll find the necessary links to copy and paste on the Credo InfoLit Links help page.

 
Direct Link
Embed Code
LTI Link (Recommended)
Ease of setup Easiest method Easy Simple, but an extra step to associate with Talon gradebook column
Student access If linked from Talon, students should be automatically logged in If linked from Talon, students should be automatically logged in Students will be automatically logged in once in Talon
Quizzes & grading Students will need to log in and provide instructor and course information. In addition instructors will need to request a grade report for their class through the Library if they wish to grade the quizzes. Students will need to log in and provide instructor and course information. In addition instructors will need to request a grade report for their class through the Library if they wish to grade the quizzes. Student quiz grades will be automatically entered in Talon gradebook after initial setup. 
  • For each link, embed code or LTI link, the content will show up separate from the rest of the tutorial. For example, if you select the link for a video, only that video will show in Talon, without navigation to the following tutorial module. If you select the link for a specific module, students will see the first page of that module and be able to navigate through all the pages of that module, and it will stop before they get to a quiz or get to the next module.
  • For detailed directions and a complete list of the direct links for copy and pasting into your course, see our Credo InfoLit Links help page.

Direct Links for Credo InfoLit Tutorial Modules

Pasting direct links into your Talon course page is the quickest method of sharing Credo InfoLit modules with students. (However, if you plan on assigning and grading the tutorial quizzes, consider using the LTI Linking method instead.)

Directions for Direct Links:

1) Select the tutorial module you want to use by reviewing the content on the Credo InfoLit website.

2) Go to the location in your Talon Course Content where you want the tutorial to be linked. 

2) Click Upload/Create, then choose "Create a Link". Fill in the title of the tutorial, then copy and paste the URL given below for the tutorial module you've selected.


Direct Links for Copy and Pasting into Talon

Whole Course Link https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/course/
Pre-Test  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@ccbeb7680b904bd79a3c4a4670a30fe3/

Getting Started With Research

Tutorial: Why Information Literacy Matters  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3cf23ca97b24479e9deecf36873b4d4c/

Video: Life in the Information Age  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@9274611dee674187b4d525b57ab520d1/

Videos: Research Process  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8c4ffb04533f46669c1890998fcf054d/

Tutorial: Developing a Research Focus  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@848d8a73c5574d82a8859405250fb442/

Video: How to Narrow Your Topic  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@aca5de2c53484cf88338eee4f7718ad4/

Tutorial: Background Research Tips  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@7796fca777784a36a7826333770a51a3/

Videos: Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@f412b11e3ec44f4189809db41f61aa75/

Video: Thesis Statements  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@a3f2f13e35eb4c8c9fd53482cec9594a/

Quiz: Thesis Statements  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e54a0b7bec754138b30e6177bc3b39f9/

Tutorial: Scholarship as Conversation  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3743aa6dabf942a28a9028cb2f39992b/

Quiz: The Research Process  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@bfa1581ee22747bc898bae68f6e027df/

Sources of Information

Tutorial: Information Has Value  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4b4a6a7cd72543168853ffe63ac0d85d/

Video: Data, Information, and Knowledge  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4f0d3fb8737e4e1da48b7ff4988afd4c/

Video: Primary & Secondary Research  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@afd97e6d41134a81a7b9b39309ef828b/

Quiz: Primary & Secondary Sources  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@c338f01b1f4041408ec28e7b3db7613d/

Video: Peer Review  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@144f25abd2944a30a9cad567b52f96da/

Quiz: Peer Review  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8a2173b0056548dd8b0cba3ebb023618/

Video: Types of Sources  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@be824deb49674c43884d9e1ba07df64b/

Tutorial: Source Types  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@306d147edc8e42cba3282fa5d934d0b2/

Quiz: Types of Sources  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@46ae5ccb3b3c41d9a9ba0a049f44fac0/

Tutorial: How To Read Scholarly Materials  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2fb509e8c9a84ac1a5ea47c31954a454/

Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@1ffb29056c394d5faadb6d3d0aa93087/

Searching for Information

Videos: Searching as Exploration  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@14173e52844c401ab4d912615885fd14/

Video: Choosing a Database  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6a942c625d3d476681b4c7ac855ed501/

Quiz: Choosing a Database  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4a1d4274d1c848a8a29561131cd5b5e4/

Tutorial: Choosing & Using Keywords  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@b75b6c9cb9804639bf178e05e4b6c01e/

Quiz: Choosing and Using Keywords  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@25ae0e0d8c6f4529ad66ad2822d88c2f/

Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 1  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@226e0b44463f4e4c91d954c384f60b2b/

Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 2  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@30bb05f9b29643bfadee62a1ae85f62f/

Video: Refining Search Results  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6c4e863404f449a0a07f47936198dbfb/

Quiz: Search Techniques  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2dcea868ff8041da9dd279300c1fd090/

Evaluating Information

Video: Types of Bias  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@73a1850fedaa4baea3a05bdedf43074b/

Quiz: Bias  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2c525baa6c8e4c5daf3d9fa6fdcea5a7/

Video: Evaluating Sources  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@16e2678ff5ee43538ca338d59924bcfc/

Tutorial: Evaluating Information  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@0593349e231b448d9521b53c3f93c4ff/

Tutorial: Choosing the Best Web Source  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@1cbbc8aa2e8b4dc68ee1142fc52077b4/

Video: How to Identify and Debunk Fake News  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@41c8cfa12c094681b7c9af623e127807/

Quiz: Fake News  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3581767223962233abe3/

Quiz: Evaluating Information  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fe81bf29146f4b5898ca8efaea7a0e44/

Presenting Research and Data

Video: Synthesizing Information  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5dbaceccf2f64fad8854c19fa9e2e3b3/

Tutorial: Synthesizing Information  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@11d966db9d3746069bd8ff3d0c576226/

Quiz: Synthesizing Information  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@a18eed51c1cb47d3abec2b8c8f34f6be/

Tutorial: Annotated Bibliography  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2050408d02114b2384de19a8c84a0b48/

Video: Anatomy of a Research Paper  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@7cee90677e3e42d88b1243ab1785d598/

Quiz: Anatomy of a Research Paper  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5224c45a73b6432eaafc46025b1441e9/

Video: Writing Help  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5c96037def7744e19a24452e77435302/

Citations and Academic Integrity

Video: Why Citations Matter  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@c2115f10ddee4ad1a3bf54a578305127/

Tutorial: Why Citations Matter  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e5f83e2ba86b4de8adf52c054b4f8a63/

Video: APA Citation Style  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@af68a913134949dd9ac1db3273fc86d1/

Tutorial: APA Citations  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6caf5f1bbb75422d9bf3b7ed7f6ba4c1/

Quiz: APA Citations  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4672bcf9bd09424eaf06a94c82d267f9/

Video: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fbd5d23946484b25bd4f9c71c39a19a8/

Tutorial: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@aef2b1f45e3f454cac0c18282cc3e550/

Quiz: MLA Citations  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@96b6ec494cec4ea4b56dc841bf11106a/

Video: Academic Integrity  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@facb16c8e42a4a7f950e21d56bd8efc9/

Video: Plagiarism  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fca7954e8ee54139841c484ad7d14942/

Video: Copyright  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@584b793a65c54b65a33554c43e64311f/

Quiz: Academic Integrity  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8a2a90b14d704ed2a00a76684bec4e24/

Post-Test

Post-Test  https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@69f3d2a797a142ec9e8b6f3d99cf7c40/

Embed Codes for Credo InfoLit Tutorial Modules

Pasting embed codes into your Talon courses is an easy way too share Credo InfoLit modules with students. (However, if you plan on assigning and grading the tutorial quizzes, consider using the LTI linking method instead.)

Directions for Embed Codes:

1) Select the tutorial modules you want to use by reviewing the content on the Credo InfoLit website.

2) Go to the location in your Talon Course Content where you want the tutorial to be embedded. 

3) Click Upload/Create, then choose either Create a File or Create an Assignment.

4) At the point where you want the tutorial to be embedded, click the "Insert Stuff" button (it looks like a "Play" button triangle) in the top left corner of the editing page. Choose "Enter Embed Code" at the bottom of the list of options.

5) Now come back to this page to copy the embed code for the tutorial module you want to embed, and paste it into the embed code box in Talon, and click "Next".

6) Talon should show you a preview of the page. It may show a message saying the content is blocked. Just click the box to Always trust the URL, and click "Allow". Then click "Insert".


Embed Code Links for Copy and Pasting into Talon

Pre-Test  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@ccbeb7680b904bd79a3c4a4670a30fe3/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Getting Started With Research

Tutorial: Why Information Literacy Matters  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3cf23ca97b24479e9deecf36873b4d4c/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Life in the Information Age  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@9274611dee674187b4d525b57ab520d1/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Videos: Research Process  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8c4ffb04533f46669c1890998fcf054d/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Developing a Research Focus  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@848d8a73c5574d82a8859405250fb442/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: How to Narrow Your Topic  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@aca5de2c53484cf88338eee4f7718ad4/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Background Research Tips  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@7796fca777784a36a7826333770a51a3/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Videos: Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@f412b11e3ec44f4189809db41f61aa75/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Thesis Statements  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@a3f2f13e35eb4c8c9fd53482cec9594a/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Thesis Statements  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e54a0b7bec754138b30e6177bc3b39f9/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Scholarship as Conversation  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3743aa6dabf942a28a9028cb2f39992b/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: The Research Process  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@bfa1581ee22747bc898bae68f6e027df/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Sources of Information

Tutorial: Information Has Value  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4b4a6a7cd72543168853ffe63ac0d85d/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Data, Information, and Knowledge  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4f0d3fb8737e4e1da48b7ff4988afd4c/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Primary & Secondary Research  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@afd97e6d41134a81a7b9b39309ef828b/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Primary & Secondary Sources  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@c338f01b1f4041408ec28e7b3db7613d/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Peer Review  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@144f25abd2944a30a9cad567b52f96da/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Peer Review  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8a2173b0056548dd8b0cba3ebb023618/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Types of Sources  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@be824deb49674c43884d9e1ba07df64b/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Source Types  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@306d147edc8e42cba3282fa5d934d0b2/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Types of Sources  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@46ae5ccb3b3c41d9a9ba0a049f44fac0/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: How To Read Scholarly Materials  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2fb509e8c9a84ac1a5ea47c31954a454/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@1ffb29056c394d5faadb6d3d0aa93087/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Searching for Information

Videos: Searching as Exploration  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@14173e52844c401ab4d912615885fd14/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Choosing a Database  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6a942c625d3d476681b4c7ac855ed501/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Choosing a Database  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4a1d4274d1c848a8a29561131cd5b5e4/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Choosing & Using Keywords  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@b75b6c9cb9804639bf178e05e4b6c01e/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Choosing and Using Keywords  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@25ae0e0d8c6f4529ad66ad2822d88c2f/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 1  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@226e0b44463f4e4c91d954c384f60b2b/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 2  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@30bb05f9b29643bfadee62a1ae85f62f/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Refining Search Results  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6c4e863404f449a0a07f47936198dbfb/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Search Techniques  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2dcea868ff8041da9dd279300c1fd090/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Evaluating Information

Video: Introduction to Bias  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e7be205d47864b2492fefdbbad7d01d3/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Types of Bias  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@73a1850fedaa4baea3a05bdedf43074b/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Bias  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2c525baa6c8e4c5daf3d9fa6fdcea5a7/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Evaluating Sources  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@16e2678ff5ee43538ca338d59924bcfc/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Evaluating Information  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@0593349e231b448d9521b53c3f93c4ff/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Choosing the Best Web Source  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@1cbbc8aa2e8b4dc68ee1142fc52077b4/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: How to Identify and Debunk Fake News  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@41c8cfa12c094681b7c9af623e127807/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Fake News  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3581767223962233abe3/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Evaluating Information  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fe81bf29146f4b5898ca8efaea7a0e44/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Presenting Research and Data

Video: Synthesizing Information  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5dbaceccf2f64fad8854c19fa9e2e3b3/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Synthesizing Information  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@11d966db9d3746069bd8ff3d0c576226/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Synthesizing Information  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@a18eed51c1cb47d3abec2b8c8f34f6be/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Annotated Bibliography  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2050408d02114b2384de19a8c84a0b48/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Anatomy of a Research Paper  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@7cee90677e3e42d88b1243ab1785d598/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Anatomy of a Research Paper  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5224c45a73b6432eaafc46025b1441e9/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Writing Help  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5c96037def7744e19a24452e77435302/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Citations and Academic Integrity

Video: Why Citations Matter  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@c2115f10ddee4ad1a3bf54a578305127/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: Why Citations Matter  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e5f83e2ba86b4de8adf52c054b4f8a63/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: APA Citation Style  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@af68a913134949dd9ac1db3273fc86d1/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: APA Citations  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6caf5f1bbb75422d9bf3b7ed7f6ba4c1/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: APA Citations  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4672bcf9bd09424eaf06a94c82d267f9/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fbd5d23946484b25bd4f9c71c39a19a8/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Tutorial: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@aef2b1f45e3f454cac0c18282cc3e550/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: MLA Citations  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@96b6ec494cec4ea4b56dc841bf11106a/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Academic Integrity  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@facb16c8e42a4a7f950e21d56bd8efc9/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Plagiarism  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fca7954e8ee54139841c484ad7d14942/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Video: Copyright  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@584b793a65c54b65a33554c43e64311f/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Quiz: Academic Integrity  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8a2a90b14d704ed2a00a76684bec4e24/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

Post-Test

Post-Test  <iframe src="https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/xblock/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@69f3d2a797a142ec9e8b6f3d99cf7c40/" width="100%" height="750" scrolling="yes"></iframe>

LTI Links for Credo InfoLit: with Talon gradebook sync

Embedding Credo InfoLit tutorial modules by using LTI links fully integrates the modules into your Talon course, including syncing student quiz results into the Talon gradebook. 

Directions: Create the LTI Link

1) Select the tutorial module you want to use by reviewing the content on the Credo InfoLit website.

2) Go to your Talon Course Content. To add an LTI link select the "Existing Activities" button, then "External Learning Tools". Scroll to the bottom of this window to select "Create New LTI Link".

3) Enter the title of the module, then copy and paste the LTI Link from this page into the URL box on the Talon page. Click "Create and Insert".

Directions: Associate with a Gradebook Column

1) Click on the assignment link you've just created. Scroll to the bottom of the page to the "Assessment" box. 

2) Click on "Add a grade item..." then click the + button. Fill in the name of the quiz, and add a category if you choose. Click "Create" to add the quiz to your gradebook.


LTI Links for Copy and Pasting into Talon

Pre-Test  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@ccbeb7680b904bd79a3c4a4670a30fe3

Getting Started With Research

Tutorial: Why Information Literacy Matters  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3cf23ca97b24479e9deecf36873b4d4c

Video: Life in the Information Age  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@9274611dee674187b4d525b57ab520d1

Videos: Research Process  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8c4ffb04533f46669c1890998fcf054d

Tutorial: Developing a Research Focus  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@848d8a73c5574d82a8859405250fb442

Video: How to Narrow Your Topic  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@aca5de2c53484cf88338eee4f7718ad4

Tutorial: Background Research Tips  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@7796fca777784a36a7826333770a51a3

Videos: Beginning Research with Wikipedia/Google  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@f412b11e3ec44f4189809db41f61aa75

Video: Thesis Statements  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@a3f2f13e35eb4c8c9fd53482cec9594a

Quiz: Thesis Statements  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e54a0b7bec754138b30e6177bc3b39f9

Tutorial: Scholarship as Conversation  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3743aa6dabf942a28a9028cb2f39992b

Quiz: The Research Process  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@bfa1581ee22747bc898bae68f6e027df

Sources of Information

Tutorial: Information Has Value  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4b4a6a7cd72543168853ffe63ac0d85d

Video: Data, Information, and Knowledge  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4f0d3fb8737e4e1da48b7ff4988afd4c

Video: Primary & Secondary Research  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@afd97e6d41134a81a7b9b39309ef828b

Quiz: Primary & Secondary Sources  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@c338f01b1f4041408ec28e7b3db7613d

Video: Peer Review  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@144f25abd2944a30a9cad567b52f96da

Quiz: Peer Review  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8a2173b0056548dd8b0cba3ebb023618

Video: Types of Sources  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@be824deb49674c43884d9e1ba07df64b

Tutorial: Source Types  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@306d147edc8e42cba3282fa5d934d0b2

Quiz: Types of Sources  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@46ae5ccb3b3c41d9a9ba0a049f44fac0

Tutorial: How To Read Scholarly Materials  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2fb509e8c9a84ac1a5ea47c31954a454

Video: How to Read Scholarly Materials  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@1ffb29056c394d5faadb6d3d0aa93087

Searching for Information

Videos: Searching as Exploration  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@14173e52844c401ab4d912615885fd14

Video: Choosing a Database  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6a942c625d3d476681b4c7ac855ed501

Quiz: Choosing a Database  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4a1d4274d1c848a8a29561131cd5b5e4

Tutorial: Choosing & Using Keywords  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@b75b6c9cb9804639bf178e05e4b6c01e

Quiz: Choosing and Using Keywords  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@25ae0e0d8c6f4529ad66ad2822d88c2f

Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 1  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@226e0b44463f4e4c91d954c384f60b2b

Tutorial: Search Techniques, Part 2  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@30bb05f9b29643bfadee62a1ae85f62f

Video: Refining Search Results  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6c4e863404f449a0a07f47936198dbfb

Quiz: Search Techniques  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2dcea868ff8041da9dd279300c1fd090

Evaluating Information

Video: What is Authority?  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@a821d174668046ad956443b1814371db

Video: Introduction to Bias  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e7be205d47864b2492fefdbbad7d01d3

Video: Types of Bias  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@73a1850fedaa4baea3a05bdedf43074b

Quiz: Bias  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2c525baa6c8e4c5daf3d9fa6fdcea5a7

Video: Evaluating Sources  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@16e2678ff5ee43538ca338d59924bcfc

Tutorial: Evaluating Information  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@0593349e231b448d9521b53c3f93c4ff

Tutorial: Choosing the Best Web Source  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@1cbbc8aa2e8b4dc68ee1142fc52077b4

Video: How to Identify and Debunk Fake News  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@41c8cfa12c094681b7c9af623e127807

Quiz: Fake News  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@3581767223962233abe3

Quiz: Evaluating Information  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fe81bf29146f4b5898ca8efaea7a0e44

Presenting Research and Data

Video: Synthesizing Information  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5dbaceccf2f64fad8854c19fa9e2e3b3

Tutorial: Synthesizing Information  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@11d966db9d3746069bd8ff3d0c576226

Quiz: Synthesizing Information  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@a18eed51c1cb47d3abec2b8c8f34f6be

Tutorial: Annotated Bibliography  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@2050408d02114b2384de19a8c84a0b48

Video: Anatomy of a Research Paper  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@7cee90677e3e42d88b1243ab1785d598

Quiz: Anatomy of a Research Paper  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5224c45a73b6432eaafc46025b1441e9

Video: Writing Help  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@5c96037def7744e19a24452e77435302

Citations and Academic Integrity

Video: Why Citations Matter  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@c2115f10ddee4ad1a3bf54a578305127

Tutorial: Why Citations Matter  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@e5f83e2ba86b4de8adf52c054b4f8a63

Video: APA Citation Style  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@af68a913134949dd9ac1db3273fc86d1

Tutorial: APA Citations  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@6caf5f1bbb75422d9bf3b7ed7f6ba4c1

Quiz: APA Citations  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@4672bcf9bd09424eaf06a94c82d267f9

Video: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fbd5d23946484b25bd4f9c71c39a19a8

Tutorial: MLA 8th Edition Citation Style  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@aef2b1f45e3f454cac0c18282cc3e550

Quiz: MLA Citations  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@96b6ec494cec4ea4b56dc841bf11106a

Video: Academic Integrity  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@facb16c8e42a4a7f950e21d56bd8efc9

Video: Plagiarism  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@fca7954e8ee54139841c484ad7d14942

Video: Copyright  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@584b793a65c54b65a33554c43e64311f

Quiz: Academic Integrity  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@8a2a90b14d704ed2a00a76684bec4e24

Post-Test

Post-Test  https://frame.credocourseware.com/lti_provider/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/block-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018+type@sequential+block@69f3d2a797a142ec9e8b6f3d99cf7c40

Credo InfoLit FAQs

Q: Is there a way to know if a student has completed a tutorial?

A: Yes and no -- Credo doesn't have a specific way to know this, the only thing it tracks for an individual student is quiz scores. So including quizzes is the best way to know students at least understand the basic concepts of a tutorial.

Talon, however, has functions that let you track a student's progress in the course, the Class Progress tool, and the Completion Tracking feature. With these you can see whether each student viewed the specific course content. 

Q: Can I assign a tutorial or quiz to a single student rather than my whole class?

A: Yes - the best way to do this is to email that student with direct links to the tutorials and/or quizzes you'd like them to complete. To get quiz results, contact Kate Hess or Ryan Strempke-Durgin at the Library to pull your student's score. You might instruct your student to be sure to fill out the form that appears before the quiz, asking for their name, the course, and their instructor's name, so that we can be sure to pull the right quiz results.

Q: I don't want to assign specific tutorials in my Talon, but I'd like students to know they can access these tutorials on their own if they need help. What link should I use?

A: There are 2 ways you could do this: 

  1. You could put the link to the Credo InfoLit homepage in your Talon: https://resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://frame.credocourseware.com/courses/course-v1:Kirkwood-Community-College+IL-MOD+2018/course/. This will take students to a table of contents where they can browse and select content they wish to view.
  2. You could link to the Kirkwood Library's LibGuides "Research Help" page. This contains a mixture of Kirkwood-created content and Credo InfoLit tutorials and videos, arranged in tabs according to the broad areas of research. The link is: http://guides.kirkwood.edu/research.