Skip to main content

Kirkwood logo

"Mother" LibGuide

A master LibGuide containing links for almost all other libguide content.

Print Journals


IOWA  Back to subject list

IAbiz
Current year
Business and industry in Iowa

Annals of Iowa
Current 3 years
It is a thought-provoking history journal to satisfy even the most serious explorer of Iowa's past.

Iowa Architect
Current 3 years
Journal of the Iowa chapter of the American Institute of Architects

Iowa Dental Journal
Current 3 years
Professional news for the practicing professional in Iowa

Iowa Heritage Illustrated
Current 3 years   
Presents local and state history through informative articles, personal accounts, and photo essays.

Iowa Horticulturist
Current 3 years
Articles specifically concerned with gardening within Iowa

Iowa Law Review
Current 3 years
Research Journal of the University of Iowa College of Law

Iowa Lawyer
Current 3 years
Iowa attorneys, news and events

Iowa Outdoors
Current 3 years
Publication of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources focusing on Iowa’s natural resources

Iowa Review
Current 3 years
Contains fiction, poetry and essays

Iowan
Current 3 years

All about Iowa

HORTICULTURE Back to subject list

American Fruit Grower
Current 3 years
Provides topical information for the professional fruit grower

American Gardener
Current 3 years
Popular articles on successful gardening experiences

American Nurseryman
Current 3 years
Professional articles related to the wholesale and retail nursery business

Garden Design
Current 3 years
Popular articles detailing a Variety of gardening projects

Grower Talks
Current 3 years
Plant propagation for the professional

Horticulture
Current 3 years
Popular articles covering a large Variety of gardening topics
Academic Search Elite  Full text:  May 1991 to date

Iowa Horticulturist
Current 3 years
Articles specifically concerned with gardening within Iowa

Landscape Management
Current 3 years
Lawn care and landscape development and management

Nursery Retailer
Current 3 years
Topics of interest to lawn and garden industry professionals

INTERNATIONAL NEWS  Back to subject list

Americas
Iowa City Campus, Current 3 years
Articles of interest to the general reader on current events, politics, the arts, religion and other subjects relating to the nations belonging to the Organization of American States.

Current History
Current 3 years
 A journal of contemporary world affairs, typically, each issue examines one country or region in depth

France-Amerique
Current year
This newspaper provides current news from France and covers travel, arts, cinema, business, and French-related events in the United States

Maclean’s
Current 6 months
Canada’s weekly newsmagazine

Middle East Report
Current 3 years
Journal about Middle East devotes each issue to a special theme

News From France
Current year
Current news and trends

Russian Life
Current 3 years
Monthly magazine of culture, history, and travel

LAW  Back to subject list

Corrections Today
Current 3 years
Official publication of the American Correctional Association provides a forum for issues related to the advancement of corrections

Drake Law Review
Current 3 years
Research  journal of the Drake University Law School

FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
Current 3 years
Professional journal with articles written by law enforcement professionals

Iowa Law Review
Current 3 years
Research Journal of the University of Iowa College of Law

Iowa Lawyer
Current 3 years
Iowa attorneys, news and events

Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology
Current 3 years
Research journal aimed at law and social sciences professionals and edited by students of Northwestern University School of Law

Paralegal Today
(formerly Legal Assistant Today)
Current 3 years
Professional articles of interest to the paralegal containing practical solutions to real issues within the profession

Police Chief
Current 3 years
Official publication of the International Association of Chiefs of Police contains membership news and features a Variety of articles concerning the law enforcement profession

LITERATURE & WRITING  Back to subject list

American Scholar
Current 3 years
Wide range of prose and poetry

Atlantic
Current year   
Renowned writers contribute an array of interesting articles on many subjects.  Subjects include short stories, poetry, the arts and travel.

Contemporary Literature
Iowa City Campus, Spring 2007 to Current
Essays, interviews, profiles, reviews and literary criticism on all aspects of contemporary literature.

Daedalus
Current 3 years
This scholarly journal is composed of articles by experts in their fields and support the cover topic. 

Harper’s
Current year
Articles are written by experts and this publication is rather scholarly with coverage of an occasional unlikely subject

Iowa Review
Current 3 years
Contains fiction, poetry and essays

Writer’s Digest
Current 3 years
Provides practical information for all types of writers

MEDICINE  Back to subject list

JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)
Current year
Scholarly journal and official publication of the American Medical Association

Lancet
Current year
International journal of medical news and research

New England Journal of Medicine
Current 3 years
Premier scholarly journal of research and information in the medical world


NURSING  Back to subject list    

American Journal of Nursing
Current year
Official research journal of the American Nurses Association

American Nurse Today
Current 3 years

AORN Journal
Current 3 years
Official research and professional journal of the American PeriOperative Registered Nurses

Critical Care Nurse
Current 3 years
Clinical techniques for the care of acute and critically ill patients

Geriatric Nursing
Current 3 years
Current news and techniques in geriatric nursing

Heart & Lung
Current 3 years
Scientific nursing journal with practical articles on acute and critical care.

International Journal of Nursing Terminologies and  Classifications
Current 3 years
Official research journal of the North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA)

Journal of Nursing Education
Current 3 years
Research influencing nursing education

Journal of Practical Nursing
Current 3 years
Current news and techniques for the Licensed Practical Nurse

LPN
Current 3 years

MCN:  The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing
Current 3 years
Journal of research and practical application for the advanced nurse practitioner working with all aspects of childbearing

Nursing
Current 3 years
Professional techniques and methods for the nursing professional

       
Nursing Clinics of North America
Current 3 years
Professional research journal of a wide spectrum of nursing concerns and applications

Nursing Outlook
Current 3 years
News, trends and controversies in the nursing and healthcare professions

Nursing Research
Current 3 years
Research journal focusing on outcomes for the practicing professional nurse

Patient Care
Current 3 years
Current news for those working in primary office care practice

Pediatric Nursing
Current 3 years
Research journal aimed at both the general reader and nursing specialist in the field of pediatrics

Teaching and Learning in Nursing
Current 3 years


PHOTOGRAPHY  Back to subject list

American Photo
Current 3 years
General interest articles on successful photographic techniques

Lenswork
Shelved in main circulating collection
771.L573
   
Photo Techniques
Current 3 years
Emphasis on the technical aspects of photography for the beginner and professional

Popular Photography & Imaging
Current year
Articles focus on techniques, product reviews and profiles of successful photographers for the amateur and professional

View Camera
Current 3 years
Technical articles and product reviews for the professional large-format photographer

PHYSICAL/OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY  Back to subject list    

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal with focus on research and practice for the professional therapist

Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Current 3 years
Research articles for the professional clinician

Journal of Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation
Current 3 years
Official research publication of the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation and the Canadian Association of Cardiac Rehabilitation

Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy
Current year
Research and case studies for the practicing professional

Journal of Rehabilitation
Current 3 years
Research in theory and practice that focuses on disability issues for the working professional
Academic Search Elite: Full text: Jan 1985 to date

Pediatric Physical Therapy
Current 3 years
Clinical research in the field of pediatric physical therapy

Physical Therapy
Current year
Official research and practice publication of the Physical Therapy Association

PT in motion
Current year
Official news and current practices publication of the American Physical Therapy Association

Respiratory Care
Current 3 years
Current research in cardiopulminary care for the professional therapist

Topics in Geriatric Rehabilitation
Current 3 years
Research and applied practice for the professional therapist providing geriatric care

PSYCHOLOGY  Back to subject list

Child Development
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal emphasizing psychological research in developmental processes

Harvard Mental Health Letter
Current 3 years
Professional newsletter with timely mental health profession information

Journal of Educational Psychology
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal of research and theory on a Variety of topics in educational psychology

Perspectives in Psychiatric Care
Current 3 years
Practical clinical, administrative applications for psychotherapy nursing professionals.

Psychology Today
Current year
Popular news magazine on current psychological topics aimed at the general, non-professional
Reader

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY  Back to subject list

Discover
Current year
General science periodical

Futurist
Current 3 years
Popular publication of forecasts, trends, and ideas about the future

Popular Mechanics
Current year
This is an inclusive magazine which covers the outdoors, technology, home improvement, and automotive topics among others. 

Popular Science
Current year
Highly illustrated magazine that focuses on science and technology
       
Science
Current year
Presents and discusses important issues related to advancement of science

Scientific American
Current year
Includes but not limited to coverage on  science and the citizen, technology and business, and mathematical recreation

SOCIOLOGY & SOCIAL WORK  Back to subject list
 
Adolescence
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal focusing on adolescent research in psychology

American Ethnologist
Current 3 years
Scholarly research in anthropology and sociology

American Journal of Sociology
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal of empirical research on a Variety of sociological topics

American Sociological Review
Iowa City Campus, December 2008 to Current
Original works of interest to all areas of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes and important methodological innovations.

Child Welfare
Current 3 years
Professional journal of the Child Welfare League of America focusing on research for social work professionals working with children and their families

Families in Society
Current 3 years
Journal focusing on practice and administration for the social work professional

Family Relations
Current 3 years
Official journal of the National Council on Family Relations

Journal of Family Theory & Review
Current 3 years

Journal of Marriage and the Family
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal of research on the family


Journal of Popular Culture
Current year
Scholarly and informative articles on a Variety of current topics in society today

Social Forces
Current 3 years
Scholarly research emphasizing the relationship of the individual to society

Social Problems
Current 3 years
Official publication of the Society for the Study of Social Problems covering a Variety of research topics in sociology
       
Social Work
Current 3 years
Professional journal of research and practice for social work professionals
   
Society
Current year
Sociological research on current topics of interest in a non-technical format

SPORTS & RECREATION  Back to subject list

American Rifleman
Current year
Journal has stories which emphasize firearms and shooting, with safety a must in every article

Backpacker
Current issues 2nd floor browsing
Popular magazine which primarily focuses on hiking and backpacking

Bicycling
Current issues 2nd floor browsing
Popular magazine which has informative articles about the cycling scene

Field & Stream
Current year
Magazine covers all aspects of hunting, fishing, and the equipment and techniques for these sports

Outdoor Life
Current year
Popular magazine that provides articles on hunting and fishing

Parks & Recreation
Current 3 years
Official publication of the National Recreation and Park Association

Skiing
Current issues 2nd floor browsing
Popular magazine that includes travel, techniques, instruction and tips from the pros for the serious skier
       
Sporting News
Current issues 2nd floor browsing
General interest spots magazine

Sports Illustrated
Current 6 months
General interest spots magazine

VETERINARY SCIENCE  Back to subject list

Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
Current year
Official publication of the AVMA aimed at the Veterinary professional interested in practical applications of Veterinary science

Veterinary Clinical Pathology
Current 3 years
Research articles and case reports

Veterinary Medicine
Current 3 years

Solutions for the practicing clinical, and field Veterinarian

WOMEN
  Back to subject list

Essence
Current year
General interest magazine with a focus on today’s African American woman


Glamour
Current year
Magazine regularly features personality profiles; articles on celebrity fashion, health, and beauty tips

Ms
Current year
Primary periodical for the expression of the feminist Viewpoint

Self
Current year
Emphasis on women’s fitness and health with coverage of fashion and beauty

Signs
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal of women in culture and society

Vogue
Current year
International fashion magazine 

Working Mother
Current year
Popular resource for new mothers in the workforce

Ask a Librarian

Cedar Rapids Campus Library
       E-mail

       Phone: 319-398-5697
     Toll-free 866-452-8504

Iowa City Campus Library
       E-mail
       Phone: 319-887-3613
                   319-887-3612

Print Journals

 AGING   Back to subject list   

Geriatric Nursing
Current 3 years
Current news and techniques in geriatric nursing

Geriatrics
Current 3 years
Peer-reviewed monthly geared toward primary-care physicians 

Long Term Living
Current 3 years
Providing information to enhance the performance and success of managers and nursing leaders to improve residents’ quality of life

Topics in Geriatric Rehabilitation
Current 3 years
Research and applied practice for the professional therapist providing geriatric care

AGRICULTURE  Back to subject list

Equus
Current 3 years
Popular and professional articles featuring equine health and stable management for both English and Western riders

Farm Journal
Current 3 years
Popular articles explore themes impacting today’s farmers and their families

Horse & Rider
Current 3 years
Practicalapplications of riding and equine care for the Western rider

Practical Horseman
Current 3 years
Authoritative tips on English riding techniques

Successful Farming
Current 3 years
Financial and production oriented articles

Wallace’s Farmer
Current 3 years
Iowa farming industry

ARCHITECTURE & INTERIOR DESIGN  Back to subject list

Architectural Digest
Current 3 years
International coverage of the best in interior design

Architectural Record
Current 3 years
Wide coverage of all aspects of architectural design with focus on public buildings within the United States

Custom Home
Current 3 years
Trade publication discusses building techniques, practices, and products for custom homes

Iowa Architect
Current 3 years
Journal of the Iowa chapter of the American Institute of Architects

ART  Back to subject list

American Craft
Current 3 years
International coverage of historical and  contemporary crafts, trends, artists and their techniques

Art Calendar
Iowa City Campus, January 2009 to Current
Business magazine for visual artists.

Art in America
Current 3 years
General interest coverage of contemporary art in the United States

Artforum
Current 3 years
International coverage of the contemporary art world

ARTnews
Iowa City Campus, Janury 2009 to Current
Fully illustrated magazine devoted to all aspects of the fine arts.

Ceramics Art and Perception
Current 3 years
International journal of contemporary ceramics

Ceramics Monthly
Current 3 years
Professional and hobbyist potters, art and techniques primarily in the United States

Ceramics Technical
Current 3 years
Focus on the technical aspect of ceramics arts

Clay Times
Current 3 years
Provides current news and useful techniques to clay artists at all levels

Graphic Arts Monthly
Current 3 years
Trade publication for the printing/graphic arts professional

Metal Smith
Current 3 years
Official publication of the Society of North American Goldsmiths, news, articles, exhibitions and reviews.

Sculpture
Current 3 years
International journal of contemporary sculpture

Studio Potter
Current 3 years
Thematic issues that focus on singular potters or techniques primarily in the United States

AUTOMOBILES & MOTORCYCLES  Back to subject list

Car and Driver
Current year
Popular magazine which is the all-purpose car magazine

Cycle World
Current year
Magazine for all motorcycle enthusiasts

Motor Trend
Current year
Popular magazine which is the all-purpose car magazine

Road and Track
Current year
Covering mainly high performance cars

BUSINESS  Back to subject list

Black Enterprise
Current year
Comprehensive coverage of African American business and industry

Bloomberg Business Week
Current 6 months
Global coverage of all aspects of business

Economic Review
Current 3 years
Official journal of the Federal Reserve

Economist
Current year
News and events impacting the global business community

Entrepreneur
Current year
Current news and information for starting and expanding new businesses

Fortune
Current year
General news and information about industry and the economy

Harvard Business Review
Current year
Current thinking on business management topics

IAbiz
Current year
Business and industry in Iowa

Inc
Current year
Management level information for small to medium sized companies

Industry Week
Current year
Current general news, events, and personalities that impact industry

Internal Auditor
Current years issues

Money
Current year
Focus on personal finance issues and strategies for the individual

Office Pro
Current 3 years
Ideas, strategies and technology for office professionals

Office Solutions
Current 3 years
Practical solutions for the professional office manager

Progressive Grocer
Current 3 years
Market conditions and trends, with emphasis on unique management approaches

Retail Merchandiser
Current 3 years

Training
Current 3 years
Directed towards managers responsible for business training

Visual Merchandising & Store Design
Current 3 years
Professional journal of retail store merchandising and design

CHILDREN & FAMILIES  Back to subject list

Child Development
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal emphasizing psychological research in developmental processes

Child Welfare
Current 3 years
Professional journal of the Child Welfare League of America focusing on research for social work professionals working with children and their families

Childhood Education
Current 3 years
Official publication of the Association for Childhood Education International.  Articles focus on the educational development of children of all ages

Cricket
Current 3 years
The magazine for children

Exceptional Children
Current 3 years
Research journal published by the Council for Exceptional Children focusing on the development and education of the exceptional child

Exchange
Current 3 years
Current news and information for the child and day care provider professional

Families in Society
Current 3 years
Journal focusing on practice and administration for the social work professional

Family Relations
Current 3 years
Official journal of the National Council on Family Relations

Horn Book Guide to Children’s and Young Adult Books 
Current 10 years
Provides critical annotations on all hardcover trade children’s and young adult books

Horn Book Magazine
Current 3 years
Book reviews for children and young adults

Journal of Family Theory & Review
Current 3 years

Journal of Marriage and the Family
Current 3 years
Scholarly journal of research on the family

Parents
Current year
Popular magazine devoted to practical parenting today

Working Mother
Current year
Popular resource for the general reader gives practical parenting tips and techniques

Young Children
Current 3 years
Academic journal of scholarly articles focusing on the latest developments in early childhood education theory and practice

DENTISTRY  Back to subject list

Access
Current 3 years
Publication of the American Dental Hygienists Association.  Articles feature professional concerns

Dental Assistant Journal
Current 3 years
Official publication of the American Dental Assistants Association.  Articles feature professional tips for oral health, patient relations and infection control

Dental Economics
Current 3 years
Practical office management tips for the oral hygiene profession

Dental Lab Products
Current 3 years
Products, news and features for dental laboratories

Iowa Dental Journal
Current 3 years
Professional news for the practicing professional in Iowa

JDT (Journal of Dental Technology)
Current 3 years
Peer-reviewed publication of the National Association of Dental Laboratories. Provides practical information in creating quality prosthetics and the successful management of a profitable dental laboratory

Journal of Practical Hygiene
Current 3 years
Practical information for the professional Dental Hygienist

Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA)
Current year
Official publication of the American Dental Association.  Topics focus on research, hygiene, ,dental psychology and the latest news in the profession

LMT:  Lab Management Today
Current 3 years
Latest news on techniques and products in the dental lab industry

PPAD (Practical Procedures and Aesthetic Dentistry)
Current 3 years
Presents practical applications of soft tissue management and all aspects of restorative and aesthetic dentistry.   

QDT
Current 3 years
Practical information to the global dental community, endodontics, new technology, restorative dentistry and prosthodontics

RDH
Current 3 years
Professional magazine for the dental Hygienist

Spectrum Dialogue
Current 3 years
International journal of dental arts

ECOLOGY  Back to subject list

Adbusters
Current 3 years
An ecological magazine dedicated to examining the relationship between human beings and their physical and mental environment
Audubon
Current 3 years
Popular magazine focusing on news related to endangered species, environmental technology and ecosystems

E:  The Environmental Magazine
Current year
Information, news and commentary on environmental issues aimed at the general reader

Iowa Outdoors
Current 3 years
Publication of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources focusing on Iowa’s natural resources

Mother Earth News
Current year
General articles and information for the amateur naturalist

National Wildlife
Current 3 years
Focus on the activities of the National Wildlife Federation featuring the works of wildlife artists

Natural History
Current 3 years
Articles concerning the biological, natural sciences, earth sciences, cultural and physical anthropology aimed at the general and professional reader

Sierra
Current year
Issues and practical tips on positively effecting the environment with a focus on eco-tourism aimed at the general reader

EDUCATION  Back to subject list

Community College Humanities Review
Current 3 years
Journal of research, curriculum change and developments within the humanities disciplines

Community College Review
Current 3 years
Refereed journal which publishes articles on research and practice of interest to community college educators

Community College Week
Current year
Newspaper which provides current information on state and national news affecting community, technical and junior colleges.     

Journal of College Student Development
Current 3 years
Focused on student development, administrative issues, and innovative programs to enhance student services

Journal of Education
Current 3 years
Journal focuses on contemporary education issues and addresses an audience of students and educators

Journal of the First Year Experience
Current 3 years
Journal of research on student transition issues

New Directions for Community Colleges
Current 3 years
Provides expert assistance in helping community colleges meet the challenges of their distinctive and expanding educational mission.

Phi Delta Kappan
Current year
Publishes articles on education research and leadership, with an emphasis on current issues, trends and policy
Academic Search Elite  Full-text:  Jan 1994 to date

Strategies
Current 3 years
Journal for physical and sport educators

Technology & Learning
Current 3 years
Features, reviews, news, and announcements of educational activities and opportunities in programming, software development, and hardware configurations.

EMERGENCY SERVICES  Back to subject list

EMS
Current 3 years
Professional journal of emergency care, rescue and transportation techniques and developments

JEMS (A Journal of Emergency Medical Services)
Current 3 years
Professional journal focusing on continuing education, new techniques and equipment for emergency medical services personnel

Journal of Emergency Nursing (JEN)
Current 3 years
Official publication of the Emergency Nurses Association for practicing professionals

FILM/DRAMA  Back to subject list

Entertainment Weekly
Current issues in 2nd floor browsing
Popular magazine with current news of film, Video, actors and directors

Film Comment
Current 3 years
Publication of the Lincoln Center Film Society aimed at general audiences.  Coverage of historical film history and older films with interviews of directors and actors

Film Quarterly
Current 3 years
Aimed at the scholar and general reader with intelligent coverage of all aspects of film and film directing, professional and amateur

Theatre Journal
Current 3 years
Academic journal of the theater with broad coverage of a Variety of theater topics, primarily in the United States

HEALTH & FITNESS  Back to subject list

Health
Current year
Focus on women’s health/fitness issues for the general reader

Men’s Health
Current year
Focus on men’s health/fitness issues for the general reader

Muscle & Fitness
Current issues in 2nd floor browsing
Focus on bodybuilding with general fitness and health information for the general reader
Prevention
Current year
New developments in health, nutrition, and fitness for the general reader

Self
Current year
Emphasis on women’s fitness and health

University of California Berkeley Wellness Letter
Current 3 years
Newsletter of nutrition, fitness and self-care

E-journals by Subject

 

Home

Hours

Contact us

Library Facebook Library Blog Library YouTube