"Mother" LibGuide

On these pages find selected materials, like articles, books, and eBooks, related to the countries represented by our students, and the countries our students visit on Study Abroad programs. 

The Library partners with many areas of the college to make sure we are providing the information sources our students and community need. Please let us know if there are any materials you'd like to suggest we purchase for the Library collection!

Kirkwood's Global Learning presents a series of country spotlights each year, featuring monthly presentations by Kirkwood students. This year's spotlight countries are featured here too, with Library resources to further your learning.

Azerbaijan

Dominican Republic

Ghana

Sudan

These databases all have something to offer the researcher looking for facts, insight, politics, arts, or culture about a country. Be sure to ask a librarian if you need any help with your search. 

The Library's collection supports all academic programs, including our Study Abroad courses, with the academic work that accompanies each program. Use the menu to the left to browse resources by country. Please let us know if you're not finding what you need, or complete a Purchase Request form below.

Some facts about Ghana, from the Global Road Warrior database:

• "Ghana is located in West Africa. The country covers roughly 240,000 square kilometers (93,000 square miles)."
• "The official language of Ghana is English; however, many languages are recognized such as Ga, various Akan languages, Ewe, Dangme, and Guan, which are spoken amongst various ethnic groups throughout the country. Due to the widespread use of French in West Africa, it also is widely spoken in Ghana."
• "Ghana’s mild climate promotes a high level of biodiversity throughout the country. It is home to several endemic species of frogs, lizards, and butterflies. Elephants, lions, panthers, and gazelles also can be found. Many species of snakes and amphibians thrive in the nation's forests and grasslands. There also is exceptional diversity of bird species including eagles, hornbills, and parrots. A large variety of fungi grow in Ghana’s forests. In addition to crocodiles, the rivers boast hundreds of species of fish. The Gulf of Guinea is home to whales, dolphins, and endangered sea turtles."
• Read much more about Ghana in Global Road Warrior!

Films available to stream:

Some facts about Sudan, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "Sudan is a country in northeast Africa covering over 1.5 million square kilometers (575,000 sq miles) with coastline along the Red Sea."
• "The country’s official languages are Arabic and English though more than 100 different languages and dialects are spoken throughout Sudan."
• "The savannas of Sudan are dominated by acacia trees, grasses, thorny trees, and baobab trees. Much of the country’s natural vegetation has been lost over the years to desertification. Wildlife includes antelope, giraffes, elephants, cheetahs, lions, leopards, rhinoceroses, and several kinds of monkeys. Common birds are bustards, storks, and guinea fowl, while among the country’s reptiles are crocodiles and various lizards. Sudan has several protected areas including Dinder and Radom national parks, which are also UNESCO biosphere reserves."
• Read much more about Sudan in Global Road Warrior!

Films available to stream:

Some facts about Azerbaijan, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "Azerbaijan covers just over 86,500 square kilometers (33,400 sq miles) of the South Caucasus. The nation lies at the intersection of eastern Europe and western Asia. The eastern region of the country boasts more than 800 km (500 mi) of coastline along the Caspian Sea."
• "Azerbaijani, a Turkic language, is the nation’s official language and the most commonly spoken. Russian, Armenian, and English are also spoken."
• "Azerbaijan enjoys a diverse climate and an abundance of biodiversity. The country’s animals include Persian leopards, wild horses, bear, deer, wolves, goitered gazelles, and wild boar. Azerbaijan is home to eight national parks and twelve nature reserves. The nation has long been revered for its abundance of wildlife."
• Read much more about Azerbaijan in Global Road Warrior!

Resources coming soon!

Some facts about Domincan Republic, from Global Road Warrior:

• "The Dominican Republic occupies the eastern region of the island of Hispaniola, which it shares with Haiti. The country has coastline along the Atlantic Ocean to its north, and the Caribbean Sea to the south. The Dominican Republic covers about 48,000 square kilometers (18,700 square miles), with many small islands and cays within the country’s territory."
• "Spanish is the official language of the Dominican Republic, with the dialect called Dominican Spanish. French and English are commonly taught in the nation’s schools. Haitian Creole is spoken by Haitians living in the country, with Chinese also spoken on the island."
• "The Dominican Republic is rich in biodiversity and has over 6,000 species of flora and fauna, many endemic. There are 18 national parks, which include both dry and cloud forests, beaches, lagoons, and cays. The country’s limited space does not support many large mammals, with shrews, hedgehogs, moles, and rodents the most common. A large variety of bats, birds, and owls also are found in the country. The nation’s freshwater and saltwater ecosystems support an abundance of sea life, including manatees, dugongs, whales, and dolphins."
• Read much more about Dominican Republic in Global Road Warrior!

Resources coming soon!

Some facts about Belize, from Global Road Warrior:

• "Belize is located in Central America between Guatemala and the southern end of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula. The northern half of the country is predominantly limestone lowlands and swampland, while the southern part includes the Maya Mountains, the country’s highland region. Doyle’s Delight is the country’s highest point at 1,124 meters (3,688 feet) tall. A substantial portion of Belize is covered in thick jungle, much of it protected."
• "Belize has more Spanish speakers—almost half the population—than those speaking Creole or English, although English is the country’s official language. Most Spanish speakers are bilingual and also speak English."
• "Wildlife in Belize is abundant and diverse and includes puma, American crocodile, tapir, black howler, and other species of monkeys. Additionally, manatees and numerous types of tortoises, birds, reptiles, fish, and insects thrive in Belize. Most of the country is covered in forest, with more than 50 different tree species that include cedar, mahogany, ironwood, palmetto palms, sapodilla, and mangrove."
• Read much more about Belize in Global Road Warrior!

Films available to stream:

Some facts about Guatemala, from Global Road Warrior:

• "Guatemala is located in Central America and covers roughly 108,000 square kilometers (42,000 square miles). The country borders Mexico, Belize, El Salvador, and Honduras and has coastlines along the Caribbean Sea’s Gulf of Honduras in the east and Pacific Ocean in the south."
• "The country’s official language is Spanish, which is spoken by the vast majority of the population. More than a dozen Mayan languages are spoken in the country as well, including Arawakan, Garifuna, and Xinca. Additionally, Chinese, German, French, and English are also spoken within corresponding populations of Guatemalans."
• "Because of the variations in topography and climate, Guatemala is home to a variety of ecosystems. A number of endemic species call the country home, including species of lizards, snakes, frogs, salamanders, beetles, and fish. Endemic species of mammals include the deer mouse and the Mam shrew. Other mammals include armadillos, tapirs, jaguars, leopards, coati, coyote, otters, and skunks. Numerous species of cetaceans, sea turtles, and oceanic fish dwell along the coastal regions of Guatemala."
• Read much more about Guatemala in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and some movies on the Library's Kanopy database. 

Some facts about France, from Global Road Warrior:

• "France is located in Western Europe and is the largest European country, covering about 640,000 square kilometers (247,000 square miles). France shares borders with Italy, Germany, Belgium, Spain, Luxembourg, Monaco, Andorra, and Switzerland. The country has multiple coastlines, lying along the English Channel in the northwest while the southwest coast fronts the Bay of Biscay."
• "French is the official language though many languages are spoken throughout the country. Many are spoken regionally, including Catalan, Occitan, Flemish, and Breton. Also spoken within small communities of France are Arabic, Portuguese, Spanish, and Italian."
• "Because of its various climates and topography, France has an exceptional amount of biodiversity. The country’s woodlands are home to mammals including brown bear, elk, marmots, ibex, wolves, and polecats. Many species of owls and birds call France home, including the pink flamingo, which is native to southern France."
• Read much more about France in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and movies on the Library's Kanopy database. 

Some facts about Costa Rica, from Global Road Warrior:

• "Located in Central America, tropical Costa Rica has extensive coastlines along both the Caribbean Sea and Pacific Ocean. It borders Nicaragua to the north and Panama in the south."
• "Spanish is the official language, with the Central American dialect having a distinct accent and word usage. Additionally, an English-Creole language is spoken along the coast, particularly among blacks, that’s called Mekatelyu or Patua. The country’s native Indians also have several languages, including Cabécar, Bribri, Maléku, Buglere, and Guaymí."
• "A nature lover’s dream, Costa Rica features caves, hot springs, waterfalls, active volcanoes, and a wealth of species that belie the country’s small size. Its incredible biodiversity exceeds both Europe and North America, making the country’s name—“rich coast”—an apt description indeed. The most numerous species include insects, fungi, spiders, and crustaceans, with hundreds of species existing nowhere else on Earth. Monkeys, bats, sloths, jaguars, pumas, and lizards call Costa Rica home, as do hundreds of birds and thousands of butterflies and orchids. The country has 28 national parks and is noted for environmental efforts aimed at preserving its significant biodiversity."
• Read much more about Costa Rica in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Some facts about Australia, from Global Road Warrior:

• "The territory of Australia includes the large, mainland island and more than 8,000 smaller islands that lie within its maritime borders. This includes Melville Island to the north and Tasmania to the south. In total, Australia covers 7,692,024 square kilometers (nearly 3 million square miles)."
• "Prior to British colonization that began in 1788, the country had more than 500 indigenous groups, the Aboriginals and Torres Straight Islanders among them. These groups are now a small minority among a population descended mostly from English and Irish ancestors."
• "The majority of the country’s mammals and reptiles are found nowhere else in the world. Along with marsupial kangaroos and koalas, who carry their young in a pouch, singular Australian species include wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, and platypus. Many plants and animals living in the country’s forests, wetlands, and woodlands are threatened due to a combination of factors such as increased land-clearing and climate change."
• Read much more about Australia in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

More documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about Scotland, from Global Road Warrior:

• Scotland is part of the United Kingdom (UK), "an island country off the northwestern coast of continental Europe...Scotland and Wales are mountainous regions with rugged landscapes and Scotland's territory includes Ben Nevis, the highest point in the UK at 1,343 meters (4,406 feet). A prominent geological fault line divides Scotland in two, with the highest points and more than 800 islands located in the northern part."
• "English is the official language. Irish or Scottish Gaelic are also spoken by some Scots and Irish, as well as people in the English county of Cornwall."
• "The UK has several coral reefs, including the cold-water coral reefs off the coast of Scotland. These reefs are home to a variety of species, including fish, crustaceans, and sponges. However, these reefs are also threatened by human activities such as bottom trawling and oil and gas exploration."
• Read much more about Scotland in Global Road Warriors, under the United Kingdom entry. 

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

More documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about Germany, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "Located in north-central Europe, Germany has coastline on the North and Baltic seas as well as the Alps mountain range along its southern border. Germany, comprised of 16 states, has the second-largest population in Europe and borders nine countries: Denmark, Poland, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Austria, France, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands."
• "The majority of the country is made up of ethnic Germans. Their ancestry includes ancient Celts of northern Europe, a powerful tribe who lived in the region from 730 to 12 BCE, and Slavs from eastern Europe. A small portion includes Turks, Greeks, Italians, Poles, Russians, Serbo-Croatians, and Spaniards. Though once its largest ethnic minority, the country’s Jewish population was drastically reduced during the Holocaust of World War II."
• "Germany’s diverse landscape includes forests, mountains, rivers, and marshes, all which support various flora and fauna. The country’s national flower is the cornflower and it grows wild throughout Germany. Other common plants include chamomile and green spire, with the silver birch and Norway spruce being the most prevalent trees.

  Many species are nearing a threatened state due to several factors such as human activity, natural disasters, and climate change. There are tens of thousands of plant and fungi species, as well as insects, in Germany. Fish and bird species have the most variation, with native bird species including the bean goose, boreal owl, and pied avocet. The country also has some unique native animals like the fire salamander, European pine marten, and chamois."

• Read much more about Germany in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about Morocco, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "Morocco is a north African country situated between the Sahara Desert and north Atlantic Ocean. Its 710,850-square-kilometer (274,460-square-mile) territory spans the northwest perimeter of the continent, its long coastline extending hundreds of miles around the rim of northern Africa, past the Straits of Gibraltar, to the Mediterranean Sea."
• "Nearly the entire population of Morocco is considered to be Arabized Berber. The Amazigh (Berbers) were the original occupants of north Africa, ranging from Morocco across as far as Egypt. The country’s official language is Arabic, with most citizens speaking a dialect known as Moroccan Arabic or Darija. French is the second most spoken language, and although it does not have official status, it is widely used in business and commerce. In June 2011, the constitution was reformed to add the Berber language Tamazight as Morocco’s second official language."
• "Extensive forests of oak, cedar, and fir grow across the humid mountainous regions of Morocco. The drier mountain areas support thuja, juniper, and pine. Morocco’s coastal Mediterranean region is marked by wild olive trees, myrtles, and dense scrub growth, but centuries of human habitation and cultivation have brought a broad variety of natural vegetation.

  Large mammals such as elephants, bears, lions, and leopards, once present during the Roman era, have been driven to extinction, but varieties of sheep, gazelle, hyena, and wild boar remain, as well as smaller mammals like the tiny fennec fox, sand cat, and Egyptian mongoose. Under protected status, the Barbary macaque has been brought back from the brink of extinction. A migratory route for birds runs along the Moroccan coast, where hundreds of species of western European and north African birds can be seen."

• Read much more about Morocco in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about Japan, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "Japan is an island nation off the eastern coast of Asia situated between the Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Japan. It covers roughly 378,000 square kilometers (146,000 square miles) and consists of over 6,800 islands though only 430 are inhabited. The major islands include Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, Kyushu, and Okinawa."
• "Most of the country’s population are ethnic Japanese and are closely related to other East Asian peoples. Minority ethnic groups include those indigenous to the islands—Bonin Islanders, the Ainu, and the Ryukyuan. Koreans, Filipinos, Chinese, Brazilians, Peruvians, and Americans make up the remainder of the population."
• "Due to the country’s diverse topography that includes forests, marshes, beaches and volcanoes, Japan is very biodiverse. Over 7,000 native plants include camellia, lily, hosta, wisteria, Japanese pine, and gingko trees, while cypress, camphor, and bamboo are also common. Thirty-three national parks are found across the Japanese islands.

   As an isolated island chain, the country is home to a number of endemic species. These include the Japanese giant salamander, the Amami rabbit, the Japanese weasel, the Bonin flying fox, the Japanese badger, and the Japanese serow. Other mammals include foxes, bats, moles, shrews, otters, macaques, wild boars, and brown bears. Coastal waters host hundreds of coral reefs, ecosystems home to thousands of species including coral fish, invertebrates, rays, sea turtles, whales, sharks, and sea plants."

• Read much more about Japan in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about Italy, from Global Road Warrior database:

•  "Italy covers roughly 300,000 square kilometers (116,000 square miles) and shares borders with France, Austria, Slovenia, and Switzerland. Within Italy’s territory are two enclaves: Vatican City and San Marino, while Campione is another Italian exclave located entirely within Switzerland."
• "The country’s official language is Italian, with many regions speaking various Italian dialects. Other languages include English, French, Friulian, Ladin, Slovene, and Spanish."
• "Noted characteristic of Italian culture include prioritizing family, which includes extended family who are present at frequent household gatherings. The country is renowned for excellence in architecture, art, theatre, literature, and wine, with fashion and food also highly esteemed. “Bella figura,” or “good image” is important to Italians, with not only clothes important to this concept, but the confidence one projects as well."
• "Italy’s varied climate and topography supports a great deal of biodiversity and there are many endemic species. The country has 24 national parks, with one on Sicily and three on the island of Sardinia. Common trees include species of oak and pine, European olive, cypress, beech, and poplar. Grasses, mosses, and wildflowers, as well as the national flower, the lily, are all found in Italy.

  Large mammals include lynx, wolves, brown bears, ibex, deer, chamois, mouflon, and porcupines. Italy is also home to many bats, birds, and owls, while small mammals like shrews, voles, and cat-like genets thrive in Italy. Coastal waters are home to monk seals, dolphins, whales, sharks, and hundreds of kinds of fish."

• Read much more about Italy in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about Singapore, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "Singapore is comprised of one main island and 63 smaller islands. With a total land area of 721 square kilometers (278 square miles), it’s located between Malaysia and Indonesia, in Southeast Asia. The main island is generally flat on the east and southeast portions, while the central region is characterized by gently rounded hills, and the west and southwest regions by low, narrow ridges. The main island is small and highly urbanized."
• "Singapore’s population is a blend of permanent residents and foreign workers, with most being permanent residents. Ethnic Chinese make up the majority, alongside smaller numbers of Malay, Indian, and a slim minority of British. Major religions include Islam (attributed to the Malay), Hinduism (Indian), Buddhism, Taoism, Catholicism, and traditional religions (Chinese). The Chinese also practice in a variety of other denominations."
• "Despite its small geographic size, Singapore has an impressive number of plants and animals. Trumpet trees, broad-leafed mahogany, frangipani trees, and distinctive rain trees are found widely throughout Singapore, as well as countless mammals, sea life, and more. Over 403 species of bird reside in Singapore, such as the wandering whistling duck, tufted duck, king quail, red junglefowl, Eurasian teal, and northern shoveler. Mammals include porcupines, elephants, old world monkeys, weasels, Malayan Tapir, and whiskered myotis."
• Read much more about Singapore in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Some facts about Ireland, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "The country of Ireland makes up about five-sixth of the total landmass of the island of Ireland. The northern portion of the island is a separate country, Northern Ireland. Ireland’s full territory includes many smaller islands off the coast. In total, the country covers about 84,421 square kilometers (35,595 square miles)."
• "The modern Irish are chiefly descended from the Celts and make up the vast majority of the population. A fraction of the population is British Islanders, mainly descended from the Anglo-Normans. A scattered number of Asians, Africans, and other Europeans make up the rest of the population."
• "Irish culture—Ireland’s traditional art, music and dance especially—carries on the creative lineage of the Celts, an ancient people who once ranged across Europe but whose influence is largely forgotten elsewhere. The cultural identity of many Irish is wrapped up in Ireland’s history as a Catholic nation, and much of Ireland’s family and community life is rooted in the nation’s relatively recent agricultural past."
• "Ireland has long been known as the Emerald Isle; its wet weather and moderate temperatures combine with its fertile soil produce a lush, green landscape ideal for ungulates and smaller mammals. Common species include elk, red foxes, deer, hares, badgers, martens, bears, and wolves. Ireland is home to a number of migratory bird species, and a great diversity of butterfly species. The ocean waters surrounding the island are home to sharks, whales, seals, dolphins, and sea turtles."
• Read much more about Ireland in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about Brazil, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "Brazil is the fifth largest country in the world and the largest in South America, occupying half the continent’s landmass. It shares borders with Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Uruguay, Suriname, Peru, and Venezuela. The east coast of the nation features more than 7,200 square kilometers (4,500 square miles) of coastline along the Atlantic Ocean and there are numerous archipelagos off the coast, including Trindade and Martim Vaz, and Fernando de Noronha."
• "The nation is also home to the Amazon River, the second longest river in the world. Other major rivers in Brazil include the Negro, Madeira, and Iguazu. In the south of Brazil, Iguazu River feeds Iguazu Falls and the waterfall system is the largest in the world, forming part of the border between Brazil and Argentina."
• "The biodiversity throughout Brazil is extraordinary. The Amazon rainforest, which covers most of northwest Brazil, is the most biodiverse rainforest in the world. It is home to thousands of species of plants, trees, flowers, vines, grasses, and fungi. Large predators such as jaguars and pumas roam the jungle alongside many species of primates, anteaters, sloths, tapirs, and countless species of tropical birds. The Amazon River is home to many species, including piranhas, Amazon river dolphins, giant otters, manatees, and electric eels."
• Read much more about Brazil in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream:

Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database: 

Some facts about South Africa, from Global Road Warrior database:

• "South Africa is located at the southernmost tip of the African continent...It is rich in mineral resources including gold, diamonds, coal, and platinum. Four countries border South Africa to the north (Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, and Mozambique), while eSwatini—formerly Swaziland—and Lesotho are landlocked countries within South Africa."
• "The majority of South Africa is comprised of black Africans including several distinct ethnicities such as Zulu, Xhosa, Basotho Bapedi, and Venda. Whites are a minority in the country, deriving from European settlers. Mixed races are referred to as colored. Indians and Asians make up a small part of the population...Eleven official languages are spoken in South Africa: Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Sotho, Swazi, Tswana, Tsonga, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu. Despite being spoken by a small portion of citizens, English is the language used for commerce and government."
• "South Africa’s spring flower shows and tours highlight the brief but colorful blooming of the world’s richest floral realm. Some of the world’s most diverse plants and animals are found in the country, which boasts more wild animal species than Europe and Asia combined. Both the world’s largest and smallest mammals are found in South Africa, the African elephant and Eastern Rock Elephant Shrew, respectively. The African Ostrich is the largest bird in the world, also found in South Africa, with Kruger National Park one of the African continent’s largest game reserves, featuring giraffes, lions, cheetahs, buffalo, elephants, rhinos, and zebras, among others. Hundreds of bird species also call South Africa home including many migrating species, while the coastline is rich in biological variation as well."
• Read much more about South Africa in Global Road Warrior!

Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:

Films available to stream: