Skip to main content

Kirkwood logo

"Mother" LibGuide

A master LibGuide containing links for almost all other libguide content.

Using Journal Search

All journals accessible through Kirkwood Library Services can be found through our Journal Search tool. This includes all of our print journals as well as electronic journals accessed through databases. the Journal Search tool can also be used to find specific article titles as well as eBooks. this short tutorial will provide you with the basics of using this powerful tool.

 

Using Journal Search to Find Full Text

Below are the steps to find the full text of an article when you start with a citation.

We'll use this example citation:
Hanna, K., & Decker, C. (2010). A concept analysis: assuming responsibility for self-care among adolescents with type 1 diabetes. Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing, 15(2), 99-110

1. On the Library Services homepage, click on Journal Search in the lower right corner of the screen. 

2. Type in, or copy & paste the journal title to the search box. In this example the journal title is Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing.

3. The results screen shows that this journal is available in two databases for a specific range of time. Click on either of the Journal links to access articles in this journal. For articles outside of this time period, contact library staff for assistance with interlibrary loan. 

4. Browse and locate the issue you need.
Under All Issues on the right of your screen, click on the appropriate year and then the appropriate volume and issue for the article you want. If the journal you need is available through a source other than EBSCOhost, the way you browse and locate the issue may be different.

5. Browse the content of this issue and locate the article you need.
Click on the PDF Full Text link to download the full text of the article. I
f the journal you need is available through a source other than EBSCOhost, the way you look for the full text icon may be different.

What is A Citation

A citation is the information needed to locate an article, a book,or other information resource. A complete citation of an article generally includes the following information. 

  • Author's name
  • Title of the article
  • Name of the journal where the article appears
  • Volume number and issue number of the journal
  • Page numbers
  • Publication date

When you cite a resource in your research paper, you must format your citation in a certain style. The two most used citation styles at Kirkwood are the APA (American Psychological Association) style and the MLA (Modern Language Association) style. For more information on citation styles, see the Citation Guides.

Below is an exmaple of a ciation of an article in APA style.
Hanna, K., & Decker, C. (2010). A concept analysis: assuming responsibility for self-care among adolescents with type 1 diabetes. Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing, 15(2), 99-110.

Limit Your Search to Full Text

There are two ways to limit your search in EBSCOHost databases. Note that if you do so, the "Find Full Text" mentioned above will not appear. 

1. On the first page you see in an EBSCOHost database, the check box for "Full Text" is located in the left column under the "Limit your results” section. This box is automatically checked for you. If you are doing an extensive search, you may wish to click off the full text limit to determine if there are other citations that relate to your topic. The full text of these articles may be requested through interlibrary loan. Ask library staff for assistance.

 

2. On the search result page, the check box for "Full Text" is located under "Refine your results" on the left of your screen.

 

Looking for Full Text Icon

Many of the articles in EBSCOHost databases are available in full text (which means the complete article is immediately available online) in either PDF format, HTML format or both. The full-text option is automatically checked for you. To search for citations of additional articles, click on the box to remove the checkmark. Resources not available in full-text in EBSCOHost databases may be requested through interlibrary loan.

PDF Full Text Icon

  • The "PDF Full Text" icon shown in the citation below indicates full text is available.
    When you're viewing a list of articles, this icon is located at the end of each article record. When you're viewing a single article record, this icon is located on the left of your screen. 
  • Click on PDF Full Text to view, save, or print the full text of the article.
  • PDF files are usually a scanned image of the original print version of the article, so include any images, graphs and charts from the original.

HTML Full Text Icon

  • Sometimes the text full of an article is available in HTML format. The image below shows the "HTML Full Text" icon.
  • In HTML format images, charts and graphs from the original may or may not be available.

Others: Full Text from Eric

  • Sometimes you may not see the PDF Full Text icon or the HTML Full Text icon. Other options may be available.
  • You may see a link entitled "Full Text from Eric" in an article record, which will also link you you the PDF full text.

Others: Find Full Text

  • You may see a link entitled "Find Full Text" in an article record, which will link you to the Journal Finder page. The Journal Finder will eventually link you to the full text either because the library has subscription to this journal (in paper or online) or because this journal is freely available to everyone. 
  • Note that if you limit your search to full text, the "Find Full Text" will not appear.  

Frequently Used Databases

Finding Full Text Guide Contents

 

Home

Hours

Contact us

Library Facebook Library Blog Library YouTube