Research Help
A help guide on some key activities involved in research processes.
Quick Search
EverythingArticlesBookseBooksVideos
Find Library Resources
Choose from all library databases
- Database A to Z listView all Kirkwood Library subscription databases, alphabetical by title or browse by subject.
Search for articles
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles in a wide variety of topics.
- What's included? Journal and magazine articles in the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Dependable database with quality articles on a very wide variety of subjects.
- What's included? Magazine, scholarly journal, and some news articles on: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? One of the best single comprehensive sources of nursing and allied health professional and scholarly articles.
- What's included? Hundreds of nursing and allied health journals included.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For a varied collection of brief essays that debate different perspectives on hot topics.
- What's included? Brief essays presenting a multiple perspectives or arguments on a single topic. Also links out to selected news and academic articles. Great for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To access a wide variety of academic subjects covered in high quality academic journal articles.
- What's included? A complete collection of articles from over 500 journals published by Oxford University Press, over 80 of these titles are open access. A wide variety of academic subjects are covered.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? First stop for any research project related to psychology.
- What's included? Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. Large collection of scholarly research journals.
Search for eBooks
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For background information to get started on your research.
- What's included? Reliable encyclopedia and dictionary entries on a wide variety of topics. Includes articles from general and specialized encyclopedias, many images and audio files, and over 1,000 videos.
- EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Search a huge collection of academic ebooks all in one search. Get a depth of information not often found in articles.
- What's included? Close to 200,000 ebook titles from a variety of publishers, on a wide range of academic topics.
- Project MUSE eBooks and Journals This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To locate scholarly works, especially strong in works about literature.
- What's included? Thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers and articles from over 600 journals.
Recommended research help guides
- Research helpThis is your guide for help in almost any aspect of the research process. Includes videos and tutorials.
- APA CitationsHelpful guides and tutorials on APA style citations
- MLA CitationsHelpful guides and tutorials on MLA style citations
- Evaluating Web ResourcesQuick guide on how to determine reliability of information found online.
- What Are Scholarly Journal Articles?Explains scholarly articles and peer review in plain language.
- How to find and use eBooksGuide on searching, downloading, and printing from library eBooks.
- Find Newspaper ArticlesSearch the Library's newspaper database plus find links to many other online newspaper sites.
- What is Plagiarism?Lots of help here on understanding what is plagiarism, how to avoid it, and Kirkwood policy.
Search journals by title
- Known journal title searchFind out if Kirkwood owns or has online access to a specific journal title.
- Journal title browseBrowse a complete list of all journals you have access to through Kirkwood Library Services.
Research Help from Librarians
Ask a librarian for research help, in person or through the Ask a Librarian chat. We can help you:
-
Search for articles and books
-
Figure out a research topic
-
Make your citations
-
Choose reliable sources
Many ways to get help:
- Chat where you see "Ask a Librarian"
- Text a question to: 319-774-6491
- Email questions to: library @ kirkwood.edu
- Call a librarian: 319-398-5697
- Live online help with Zoom: Use the "Ask a Librarian" chat function to get started.
- Ask for help any time, or make an appointment for in-depth research consultation. Follow the link below to get started!
- Research consultation appointmentUse this form to request a research consultation appointment. Must be made at least 6 hours in advance, however research help is always available without an appointment at the reference desk or through the Ask a Librarian chat.
Remember: If the time you want isn't available, but it's during our regular hours of operation, you can still get help at the reference desk or through the Ask a Librarian chat.
What if we're closed? We have many online guides where you might find answers to your questions:
How to get online help with screenshare
Librarians can help you at a distance through the Ask a Librarian chat and Zoom. Follow these steps:
- On the Library website, click on the "Ask a Librarian" chat (instant messaging), visible as a blue tab at the right side of each page.
- Fill out the form and click "Submit".
- The librarian will chat with you, and determine if they need to see your computer screen. If they do, they will send you an invitation through the chat to "Join the screensharing session". Click on the link.
- Zoom should open on your computer. Give permission to download if needed.
- Click "Join with Computer Audio" if prompted.
- Select "Share Screen" on the Zoom window that opens. (See screenshot)
- If you or the librarian can't talk through the computer mic and speakers, open the Zoom chat so you can continue to chat with the librarian: click on "More..." at the very top of your Zoom screen, then select "Chat".
- The librarian may request to control your screen, so that they can see your screen, click, and type. You will get a request to accept remote control of your screen that you need to allow. (Remote control allows the librarian access to your screen. You may end their remote control at any time by clicking on "Stop Share" at the very top of your screen.
- If you're not using audio, watch the chat in case the librarian needs to communicate with you.
If you have technical problems getting this Zoom session to run, see this help guide for more information.
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |