Kirkwood Library Services has over 40,000 books, close to 200,000 eBooks, and thousands of academic magazines and journals available to students, faculty, and staff, both on and off campus. The library's homepage is the starting point for all information searches.
Library Services also subscribes to content especially for faculty use, with journal articles and eBooks focused on supporting educational planning, curriculum, online teaching, and many more topics especially relevant to educators.
Why search here? For a collection of journal articles focused solely on education, educators and administrators.
What's included? More than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports in the field of education. Includes full text articles in the ERIC database. Covers topics from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
The Library has a wealth of information resources available to our users through our Library Search (WorldCat Discover) and information databases.
You can also search for books and DVDs held by the library and have those items delivered to your campus mail box.
The "Place Hold" function in the Library Search will place a hold on items that are already checked out, or will request delivery from Kirkwood library to any Kirkwood center. See detailed instructions below.
In addition, the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service delivers books from libraries around the country to the Kirkwood library for student or employee checkout. See links and directions below.
WorldCat DiscoveryThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? A great place to start your research, WorldCat is an all-in-one search of the library's holdings.What's included? Kirkwood library books, ebooks, and article database content. Select "Libraries Worldwide" on the results screen to search books held by libraries around the country and the world.
Step by step directions on requesting interlibrary loan of materials the Kirkwood library doesn't own
Videos & Films for Classroom or Talon Use
To search for available videos & films:
Search for DVDs and streaming video in the Library Catalog (WorldCat). Enter a specific title or a subject in the WorldCat search, then use the "video" limit to view available DVDs and streaming videos.
Most Library DVDs are in Kirkwood's VOD (Video on Demand) system, which means they can be added to your Talon course as a streaming video that students can watch at any time through your course content. To embed in your Talon course, contact Scott Stiffler at Kirkwood's Technology Services for the URL. It can then be added like any link to your Talon course content.
Frequently asked questions about captioning, and some ideas on how to add them to your videos.
New York Times website access directions
All Kirkwood students and employees may access the New York Times (NYT) website by creating their own account. The account must be created while using a Kirkwood computer, but the site may then be accessed from anywhere by logging in with your own account.
2. Follow the steps to create your profile. You must use your Kirkwood email address, then a password of your choosing. Click "Create Account".
3. You will receive a confirmation email. Click on the link provided and your registration is complete.
4. The education pass access is good for one year. When that year is up you click on the above "edupass" link, make sure you are logged in with your Kirkwood email account, and re-verify that you are still a Kirkwood employee or student. You'll again need to go to your Kirkwood email and click on the confirmation link given.
Chronicle of Higher Education website access
Kirkwood Library Services has an institutional subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education website.
If you are on campus, you should have full access to the Chronicle website (chronicle.com). If you don't, please contact a librarian.
If you want to access the Chronicle from off campus, you first need to create an account for yourself. Follow these steps to authenticate using a Kirkwood email address:
1. From the Chronicle website, click on "Log in" in the upper right corner of the page.
2. Click "Create Account", and follow the instructions to fill in your name and email address. You must use your Kirkwood email address. Note that you can de-select the options to subscribe to email newsletters.
3. You will receive a confirmation email with a link to activate your account. Once you follow this link you will be asked to create a password.
You now should have the same access from any device or location by logging in with your email and password. If you have any problems with this, please contact a librarian.
Wall Street Journal website access
Kirkwood Library Services has a college-wide subscription to the Wall Street Journal website. Each user who wants to access the Wall Street Journal must create their own account, using their Kirkwood email. Follow the directions below to get your account started: