Global Learning
Explore Library resources for study abroad, international learning, and countries represented by our Kirkwood students.
About Ireland
Some facts about Ireland, from Global Road Warrior database:
- "The country of Ireland makes up about five-sixth of the total landmass of the island of Ireland. The northern portion of the island is a separate country, Northern Ireland. Ireland’s full territory includes many smaller islands off the coast. In total, the country covers about 84,421 square kilometers (35,595 square miles)."
- "The modern Irish are chiefly descended from the Celts and make up the vast majority of the population. A fraction of the population is British Islanders, mainly descended from the Anglo-Normans. A scattered number of Asians, Africans, and other Europeans make up the rest of the population."
- "Irish culture—Ireland’s traditional art, music and dance especially—carries on the creative lineage of the Celts, an ancient people who once ranged across Europe but whose influence is largely forgotten elsewhere. The cultural identity of many Irish is wrapped up in Ireland’s history as a Catholic nation, and much of Ireland’s family and community life is rooted in the nation’s relatively recent agricultural past."
- "Ireland has long been known as the Emerald Isle; its wet weather and moderate temperatures combine with its fertile soil produce a lush, green landscape ideal for ungulates and smaller mammals. Common species include elk, red foxes, deer, hares, badgers, martens, bears, and wolves. Ireland is home to a number of migratory bird species, and a great diversity of butterfly species. The ocean waters surrounding the island are home to sharks, whales, seals, dolphins, and sea turtles."
- Read much more about Ireland in Global Road Warrior!
Books and other resources about Ireland
Ireland by Call Number: 941.5 W751iISBN: 9781786574459Publication Date: 2018-03-20Lonely Planet: Ireland is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Ponder the brooding landscapes and windswept coast, soak up music and literary sites in Dublin, and explore centuries of history -all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Ireland and begin your journey now!
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Ireland by Call Number: 941.5 I654ISBN: 9781465471598Publication Date: 2018-10-02Discover Ireland with this essential travel guide to this great island, designed to help you create your own unique trip and to transport you there before you've even packed your case - step back in time at Newgrange and other ancient sites across the country, explore the legendary Giant's Causeway, or sample Dublin's best pubs and restaurants.
Ireland - Culture Smart! by Call Number: 941.5 S424i 2016ISBN: 1857338421Publication Date: 2016-07-01The island of Ireland is famous for its timeless beauty, the variety of its landscape, its quiet towns and lively cities, the poetic and literary genius of so many of its citizens, its music and folklore, and its colorful and bloody history. What is also true is that the Irish people have in many ways changed in recent years, while retaining the scars and proud memories of their past, and their thriving national culture. Twenty-first century Ireland, North and South, is the product not only of its history and culture, but also of massive political change, remarkable efforts to heal centuries-old animosities, a metamorphosis in social and religious attitudes, and the dramatic peaks and troughs of a transformed economy.
Ireland and the European Union by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526159601Publication Date: 2021-11-02This book examines how Ireland's relationship with the EU was affected by a succession of crises in both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. The financial crisis, the Brexit crisis and the migration crisis were not of equal significance on the island of Ireland. The financial crisis was a huge issue for the Republic but not Northern Ireland, Brexit had a major impact in both polities, the migration and populism issues were less controversial, while foreign policy challenges had a minimal impact. The book provides a summary of the main features of each of the crises to be considered, from both the EU and the Irish perspective. Ireland and the European Union is the first volume of its kind to provide a comprehensive analysis on British-Irish relations in the context of Brexit.
Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? A great place to start your research, WorldCat is an all-in-one search of the library's holdings.
- What's included? Kirkwood library books, ebooks, and article database content. Select "Libraries Worldwide" on the results screen to search books held by libraries around the country and the world.
Films available to stream:
- Documentary series: The Great Tours - Ireland and Northern IrelandThe Great Tours: Ireland and Northern Ireland guides you through the enchanting history, people, and places that make up the Irish identity. Taught by Professor Marc C. Conner, president of Skidmore College, these 24 captivating episodes give you a sweeping tour of the Emerald Isle, from the Cliffs of Moher to the hallowed stage of the Abbey Theatre to the battle-scarred towns of Northern Ireland.
- Documentary: Modern Ireland in Paint and GlassBy the time of the Irish Revival, Dublin had become a city of growing artistic merit, with a national gallery, famed Georgian architecture, and a burgeoning crop of visual artists. Meet some of Ireland’s finest artists of the time, including Jack Yeats (brother to the poet) and stained glass maker Harry Clarke.
- Film (Rom Com) StandyIn an Irish airport, a woman waiting STANDBY (Mad Men’s Jessica Paré) for a flight home to the US runs into an old flame. They discover they’re more compatible than ever, but with an ocean between them, is their second chance meant to be?
Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database:
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For an extensive collection of streaming videos and films.
- What's included? Contains a wide range of films and television series, as well as documentary videos produced by PBS, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources and more.
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |