Global Learning
Explore Library resources for study abroad, international learning, and countries represented by our Kirkwood students.
About Brazil
Some facts about Brazil, from Global Road Warrior database:
- "Brazil is the fifth largest country in the world and the largest in South America, occupying half the continent’s landmass. It shares borders with Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Uruguay, Suriname, Peru, and Venezuela. The east coast of the nation features more than 7,200 square kilometers (4,500 square miles) of coastline along the Atlantic Ocean and there are numerous archipelagos off the coast, including Trindade and Martim Vaz, and Fernando de Noronha."
- "The nation is also home to the Amazon River, the second longest river in the world. Other major rivers in Brazil include the Negro, Madeira, and Iguazu. In the south of Brazil, Iguazu River feeds Iguazu Falls and the waterfall system is the largest in the world, forming part of the border between Brazil and Argentina."
- "The biodiversity throughout Brazil is extraordinary. The Amazon rainforest, which covers most of northwest Brazil, is the most biodiverse rainforest in the world. It is home to thousands of species of plants, trees, flowers, vines, grasses, and fungi. Large predators such as jaguars and pumas roam the jungle alongside many species of primates, anteaters, sloths, tapirs, and countless species of tropical birds. The Amazon River is home to many species, including piranhas, Amazon river dolphins, giant otters, manatees, and electric eels."
- Read much more about Brazil in Global Road Warrior!
Books and other resources about Brazil
Brazil: The essential guide to customs and culture by Call Number: 981 B816b 2023ISBN: 9781787023390Publication Date: 2023-09-28Don't just see the sights; get to know the people. For many people, Brazil conjures up images of football, Carnaval, and fine coffee, but it's much more than beaches and bossa nova. If we had to choose one word to describe the country, it would probably be diversity. The variety of lifestyles, ethnic groups, landscapes, and climates Brazil encompasses is quite simply enormous. This guide provides you with a comprehensive introduction to everything you need to know.
Brazil: A centure of change by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780807894118Publication Date: 2009-04-15Brazil, the largest of the Latin American nations, is fast becoming a potent international economic player as well as a regional power. This English translation of an acclaimed Brazilian anthology provides critical overviews of Brazilian life, history, and culture and insight into Brazil's development over the past century.
Brazil: What everyone needs to know by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190224547Publication Date: 2016Brazil is one of the largest economies in the world. Brazil: What Everyone Needs to Know evaluates the progress that has been made to date in consolodating democracy and addressing the challenging institutional issues that are obstacles to a higher level of development. It deals with the political evolution as well as the economic development trends from colony to the 21st century.
Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? A great place to start your research, WorldCat is an all-in-one search of the library's holdings.
- What's included? Kirkwood library books, ebooks, and article database content. Select "Libraries Worldwide" on the results screen to search books held by libraries around the country and the world.
Films available to stream:
- Documentary: Brazil - An Inconvenient HistoryAt first glance Brazil appears to be an alluring playground of exciting carnivals, sultry samba, divine football and a vibrantly diverse people.
But behind this dazzling facade lies a disturbing story of historys largest-ever slave population. Astonishingly Brazil, a Portuguese colony, received ten-times more African slaves than the numbers transported to North America. This programme looks at those estimated 4 million people with whose blood, sweat and tears Brazil was built. - Documentary: Ciclovida Lifecycle - Sowing the Seeds of Change in BrazilThis feature-length documentary pedals alongside a group of small farmers from Brazil who bicycle over 6,000 miles across the South American continent. They use the year of travel to exchange natural seeds, songs, and ideas about new ways of relating to the land. Moving stories from landless peasants, indigenous communities, and small farmers inform the travelers and viewers, expanding their understanding of the struggle to survive in the face of global agribusiness incursion and the takeover of monocrops for making biofuel.
- Film (Biopic) Pelé - Birth of a LegendDiscover the story of the greatest sports hero ever-how a kid from the slums of Brazil named Pelé transformed soccer into the world's biggest sport.
- Documentary: Capoeira - Fly Away BeetleCapoeira, comprised of stylized dance and ritual combat takes its cue from the sacred music of the berimbau. Born from slavery and reborn on the modern streets of Brazil, Capoeira proceeds from the timeless urge for freedom. With stunning cinematography this feature length documentary captures the ballet-like beauty of Capoeira while also exploring the history, myth and symbolism behind its graceful moves.
Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database:
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For an extensive collection of streaming videos and films.
- What's included? Contains a wide range of films and television series, as well as documentary videos produced by PBS, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources and more.
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |