Global Learning
Explore Library resources for study abroad, international learning, and countries represented by our Kirkwood students.
About Germany
Some facts about Germany, from Global Road Warrior database:
- "Located in north-central Europe, Germany has coastline on the North and Baltic seas as well as the Alps mountain range along its southern border. Germany, comprised of 16 states, has the second-largest population in Europe and borders nine countries: Denmark, Poland, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Austria, France, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands."
- "The majority of the country is made up of ethnic Germans. Their ancestry includes ancient Celts of northern Europe, a powerful tribe who lived in the region from 730 to 12 BCE, and Slavs from eastern Europe. A small portion includes Turks, Greeks, Italians, Poles, Russians, Serbo-Croatians, and Spaniards. Though once its largest ethnic minority, the country’s Jewish population was drastically reduced during the Holocaust of World War II."
- "Germany’s diverse landscape includes forests, mountains, rivers, and marshes, all which support various flora and fauna. The country’s national flower is the cornflower and it grows wild throughout Germany. Other common plants include chamomile and green spire, with the silver birch and Norway spruce being the most prevalent trees.
Many species are nearing a threatened state due to several factors such as human activity, natural disasters, and climate change. There are tens of thousands of plant and fungi species, as well as insects, in Germany. Fish and bird species have the most variation, with native bird species including the bean goose, boreal owl, and pied avocet. The country also has some unique native animals like the fire salamander, European pine marten, and chamois."
-
Read much more about Germany in Global Road Warrior!
Books and other sources about Germany
DK Eyewitness: Germany by Call Number: 943 G373ISBN: 9780241358320Publication Date: 2019-02-19Germany promises an array of famous sights and hidden gems. Whether you want to visit Bavaria's captivating castles, walk the medieval streets of Rothenburg ob der Tauber or enjoy sublime classical music in concert, your DK Eyewitness travel guide makes sure you experience all that Germany has to offer. Boasting some of Europe's finest lakes and no fewer than 16 national parks, this country is a haven for outdoor enthusiasts. But Germany is also synonymous with art and culture, which can be experienced at its world-class galleries and museums.
Germany - Culture Smart! by Call Number: 943 T655g 2021ISBN: 1787028844Publication Date: 2021-03-04Don't just see the sights--get to know the people. Germany powerhouse of Europe and pillar of the Eurozone feels reassuringly familiar. However, despite superficial appearances, this is a country that operates very differently from the USA and Britain. German history is more than a thousand years old and the relatively new German nation-state encompasses an astonishing variety of cultural and regional differences. German society is also in a state of flux, as people respond to immigration and a tough economic climate, and traditional attitudes such as formality and rigid protocol are softening as German business globalizes.
Germany in the Modern World by Call Number: 943 M991gISBN: 9780742568020Publication Date: 2011-01-16With a careful blend of concision and rich detail, Sam A. Mustafa's readable and lively text traces German history from Roman times to the present, placing particular emphasis on the past three centuries. Mustafa provides a judicious mix of narrative history and historiography, tracing the influential individuals and broad social currents, myths and legends, and political and cultural elements that have shaped the country.
Search for books and articles on more specific topics using our WorldCat library search:
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? A great place to start your research, WorldCat is an all-in-one search of the library's holdings.
- What's included? Kirkwood library books, ebooks, and article database content. Select "Libraries Worldwide" on the results screen to search books held by libraries around the country and the world.
Films available to stream:
- Educational series: Learning German - A Journey through Language and CultureThis series teaches all the skills needed to understand and speak basic German. Focusing on major attractions in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, these episodes are perfect preparation for anyone who wants to experience German-speaking culture firsthand, from conversing with locals to reading signs and menus to navigating the railways and Autobahn.
- Documentary: Peter Eisenman - Building Germany's Holocaust MemorialThis documentation chronicles Peter Eisenman's creation of a major public sculpture in the center of Berlin, a soccer-field sized space filled with 2711 concrete stele.
The site is named "Memorial for the Murdered Jews of Europe." The idea of a memorial was initiated by a group of concerned Germans led by the journalist Lea Rosh in 1988, who demanded a visible public acknowledgement of that dark episode in their country's past... - Documentary: Two Germanies - A Laboratory in EconomicsThe post-war occupation of Germany by four separate powers—and the difficult question of how to avoid the problems that stemmed from the Treaty of Versailles just a few decades earlier—created a division that would dominate Europe for decades. It also created a unique opportunity for direct comparison between communist and capitalist enterprise, which you will take advantage of here.
- Documentary: Social Welfare in Germany - Bismarck to KohlSocialist policies are not limited to the realm of idealists and reformers. Germany under Otto von Bismarck shows how socialist policies like public education, unemployment benefits, and tax-funded healthcare can create more efficient workforces. See how Bismarck's ideas were used to help Germany achieve greater power and trace his legacy into the 20th century under Chancellor Helmut Kohl.
- Documentary: Back to the Fatherland - Israeli Immigration to Germany and AustriaGil and Kat have been friends since college. Gil is from Israel, Kat from Austria; Gil is the granddaughter of Holocaust survivors, Kat the granddaughter of a Nazi officer. They have been friends for over a decade. Through them we meet other young men and women whose grandparents were murdered or persecuted during the war.
What's interesting is that many have decided to move back to the Fatherland, a choice that their families disagree with. This revealing documentary explores the challenges and opportunities for reconciliation and understanding between the generations on both sides of the Shoah. - Short film: Masel Tov CocktailIngredients: 1 Jew, 12 Germans, 50 ml Culture of Remembrance, 30 ml stereotypes, 2 teaspoons of patriotism, 1 teaspoon of Israel, 1 falafel, 5 Stumbling Stones, a dash of antisemitism Directions: Put all ingredients into a film, bring to boil and shake vigorously. Then garnish with Klezmer music. Consumption: Light before serving. Enjoy at the cinema. 100% kosher.
Many more documentaries and movies available on the Library's Kanopy database:
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For an extensive collection of streaming videos and films.
- What's included? Contains a wide range of films and television series, as well as documentary videos produced by PBS, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources and more.
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |