Kirkwood Library: Women's Studies with Renee Schlueter: Find Videos &amp; Images

Online Sources for Videos

Videos can be useful resources in your research. Besides giving visual components or explanations to your research topic, they also can give a very different perspective from written sources.

There are many different online sources for informational videos:

Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For an extensive collection of streaming videos and films.
- What's included? Contains a wide range of films and television series, as well as documentary videos produced by PBS, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources and more.
Our collection also includes Media Education Foundation's Media Studies & Communication Collection.

YouTube
YouTube contains user-contributed videos, so evaluate videos carefully before using
PBS Videos
Collected videos from many different PBS television programs

Free images, photos, and videos for presentations

As a student, you need to be aware that copyright laws still apply to you, especially when using images in presentations or other projects you create for a course assignment. The following are great sources for images licensed for copying and reusing.

Creative Commons: Media Search
This searches common image sources (Flickr for example) for just those images licensed for copying.
Unsplash
Database of free photos. No permission needed.
Pixabay
Database of free photos. No permission needed.
Pexels
Database of free photos. No permission needed.