Genealogy Basics
Ready to jump into genealogy? This guide gives you the basic resources to get started the right way.
Note
This pathfinder will be useful for beginners who would like to start a family history search using the Internet. On a cautionary note, remember that the Internet is merely a vehicle to help you begin the process. It is not the only resource you should use, but is a wonderful road map to help you start your ancestry search. Some resources are free, others require subscriptions.
Key Resources
- Cyndi’s List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet BeginnersThe main directory of genealogy sites.
For an introduction to the topic, see:
- Evidence Explained: Citing History Sources from Artifacts to Cyberspace (3rd ed.) by Elizabeth Shown Mills (2017) ISBN 0806320400
- Generation by Generation: A Modern Approach to the Basics of Genealogy by Drew Smith (2023) ISBN 080632127X
Books
Ancestors by ISBN: 0395854105Publication Date: 1997-03-03
The Family Tree Problem Solver by ISBN: 1440300747Publication Date: 2019-03-19
First Steps in Genealogy by ISBN: 1558704892Publication Date: 1998-08-15
Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook by ISBN: 1558706518Publication Date: 2003-08-26
Genealogy for Dummies by ISBN: 1119411963Publication Date: 2017-07-17
Generation by Generation by ISBN: 9780806321271Publication Date: 2023-02-10
Mastering Genealogical Documentation by ISBN: 1935815245Publication Date: 2017-05-10
Mastering Genealogical Proof by ISBN: 1935815075Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Research Like a Pro by ISBN: 9781732188105Publication Date: 2018-05-19
Unpuzzling Your Past the Best-Selling Basic Guide to Genealogy Fourth Edition Expanded, Updated and Revised by ISBN: 0806318546Publication Date: 2010-04-01NOTE: Aimed at kids, but helpful.
Who Do You Think You Are? by ISBN: 0143118919Publication Date: 2010-12-28
You Can Write Your Family History by ISBN: 0806317833Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Websites
- CDC Where To Write for Vital RecordsThe CDC maintains the information about where to find birth, marriage, and divorce (aka Vital Records) in each state.
Genealogy is easier with connections. Search “genealogy” on whatever social media platforms you use from Facebook to YouTube. The results and connections made can be very helpful.
- 27 Golden Rules of GenealogyA list of good practical dos and don'ts from the trenches.
- Ancestry.comThe largest paid genealogy database.
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Family SearchSearchable genealogical information of all kinds both full text and as an index to their paper holdings.
- Ellis Island RecordsSearchable records of those who passed through Ellis Island.
- Family Search Beginner's GuideFamily Search from LDS also offers a genealogy beginner's guide.
- Family Search Research WikiA landing site to start your research.
- Fold 3A paid subscription of military records under the sponsorship of Ancestry.com.
- Genealogy GlossaryFrom Family Tree Magazine a short list of definitions of genealogy terms.
- Genealogy ToolboxA collection of links to other websites that might provide useful tools for your research. I'd ignore the citation makers, so be advised some of these may be more useful than others.
- IAGen Web ProjectIowa's branch of USGenWeb.
- On The Trail of Our AncestorsA smaller directory site and easier to handle for beginners, look especially at the page linked to Genealogy for Beginners.
- The Ultimate Guide to Military Records for GenealogyA page from Genealogy Explained that will get you started on military research.
- United States Vital Records InformationWhere to find vital records for the time period and state you are working in.
- US Gen Web ProjectOne of the largest volunteer run genealogy sites, it's free but varies widely depending on the work put into it by state and local volunteers.
- World GenWeb ProjectThe international version of the website.
Journals
Stand alone subscriptions:
- Family Tree Magazine
- Internet Genealogy
Subscription part of membership benefit:
- American Ancestors
- National Genealogical Quarterly
Organizations and Special Collections
- Iowa Genealogical Society
628 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309
515-276-0287
www.iowagenealogy.org
e-mail address: igs@iowagenealogy.org
(Check with your state’s Genealogical Society & both state and local historical societies where your family lived, plus any ethnic heritage national museums – for example the National Czech and Slovak Museum or the Vesterheim - that apply)
- Godfrey Memorial Library
134 Newfield St.
Middletown, CT 06457
Tel: (860) 346-4375
Fax: (860) 347-9874
www.godfrey.org
e-mail address: refdesk@godfrey.org (Reference Librarian)
Free Forms For Download
- Ancestry.com Family Tree Templates & PedigreesLinks to a variety of genealogy templates and research trackers.
- Ancestry.com FormsForms range from a basic ancestral chart to blank census forms for note taking.
- Family Search Genealogy Research FormsScroll down. After listing links to their free charts they list free charts available on other websites.
- National Archives Charts and FormsFree genealogy forms including forms for taking notes from government records.
- National Genealogical Society Free Charts and FormsForms from the Society. You are required to create a free account to access them.
- Thought.Co Form LinksThis is a directory of forms available for free from other sites.ThoughtCo is a premier reference site with a 20+ year focus on expert-created education content.
Family Relationships
- Family Relationship ExplanationAn explanation (with examples) of the official names for family relationships.
- Family Relationship ChartA chart that allows you to calculate official names for family relationships.
- Family Relationship VideoA blog post that directs you to a 4 minute video that explains how to calculate family relationships. The video is embedded at the bottom of the post.
Citation and Legal Links
- Genealogical Proof StandardThe standards adopted by the field for correctly citing and researching genealogical information.
- Legal GenealogistA blog that addresses legal issues and questions having to do with genealogy.
Search Aids
Search Terms (Use for computer searches)
- Genealogy
- Internet Genealogy
Subject Headings (Use in card catalogs and print indexes)
- Genealogy-Data Processing
- Genealogy-Computer Network Resources
- Genealogy
- NOTE: Most public libraries are organized by Dewey Decimal System or one related to bookstores. A lot of university libraries are organized their books using the Library of Congress system (designed to follow Thomas Jefferson's library in Monticello.) You will find people who prefer either one or the other. A genealogist in the group recommends this instruction set on how to use Library of Congress system for genealogy if you haven't had to deal with it before.
Call Number
- 929.1; 929.4 (Dewey Decimal)
- 025.02-025.06929 (Library of Congress)
Indexes and Abstracts
- EBSCOhost
- First Search
- Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
Library catalogs
- Your local library catalog
- SILO - State-wide catalog
- World Cat - World-wide Catalog
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |