Information Literacy
Information Literacy: Basic Research Skills
- Information Literacy: Basic Research SkillsPDF copy of a Creative Commons (OER) textbook. It is free for noncommerical use. Author: Carol M. Withers, M.L.I.S.
San Diego City College Library, 2019
Section 1: Research and the Scholarly Conversation
Section 2: Understanding Information (includes evaluation of information, primary, secondary and tertiary resources, and scholarly and popular sources)
Section 3: Keeping it Legal (includes copyright, fair use, plagiarism, and citations)
Section 4: Creating your own Resource List for your Topic
Section 5: Picking a Topic and Developing it
Section 6: Identifying a Variety of Words to Use and Creating Search Strategies (includes keywords, Boolean operators and choosing databases)
Section 7: Finding Books and Articles in Library Databases
Section 8: Searching the Web
Section 9: Wrapping it Up
Section 10: Glossary
Information Literacy
- Information LiteracyThis textbook is a Creative Commons, Open Educational Resource. A link to each chapter is provided below.
Authored by: Nasser Maksoud (MECC); Dorothy Connelly (BRCC); Diane Phillips (SWCC). - Chapter 1Developing a Research Question
- Chapter 2Boolean operators
- Chapters 3 and 4Research strategies and citations
- Chapter 5Evaluating sources
- Chapter 6Organizing information and plagiarism
LIS 101.com
- Social and Political Dimensions of Information Literacy: Readings and Research SkillsBy Todd Heldt, Faculty Librarian, Harold Washington College. Creative Commons resource.
- Module 1A Very Brief History of Information
- Module 2The Consumption of Information
- Module 3Politics and the Legal Landscape of Information in the United States
- Module 4The Production of Information
- Module 5Information Online
Includes Search engine tricks - Module 6Organizing Information
Includes annotated bibliographies - Research SkillsIncludes thesis statements, citations and searching the databases
The Information Literacy User’s Guide
- Open Textbook from the State University of New YorkThis textbook includes chapters on visual literacy and science literacy.
- Last Updated: Sep 18, 2020 1:59 PM
- URL: https://guides.kirkwood.edu/infolit
- Print Page
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |