Kirkwood Library: Brainfuse guide: Home

What is Brainfuse?

Brainfuse This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To browse the many support services for students and job seekers.
- What's included? Includes test preparation guides, resume and cover letter writing, navigation of the VA system, and access to online, on-demand assistance from Job Coaches or Veteran Navigators.

Access to Brainfuse is provided by the State Library of Iowa, and is completely free to all Iowa residents.
Some services require logging in.
- You can create your own login and password when prompted, using your personal email address.
- Brainfuse keeps your email confidential and never sends any emails to you or sells your email to a third party.

Brainfuse Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To locate study guides for common standardized tests, and for general skills like math, reading and writing.
- What's included? Includes test preparation guides for many standardized tests.

Click on "Tools for Learners" then "LearnNow" in the menu at the top of the Brainfuse screen.

On this screen you can browse or search for the many subjects and tests:

High School
- Support for many high school courses
High School Equivalency Tests
- Includes GED, HiSET, and TASC
College Entrance Test Prep
- Includes PSAT, SAT, ACT, AP courses, TOEFL iBT, TOEIC, CLEP, and THEA, TEAS, and HESI
CollegeNow
- Support for the college application process
College Placement Tests
- Includes Accuplacer and WritePlacer
College
- Support for many general college courses
Nursing School Exams
- TEAS, HESI, NCLEX
Praxis
ASVAB
Computers and Technology
- Support for learning Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Outlook, and C++, Java, and SQL certification
Graduate School Entrance Test Prer
- GRE and GMAT
Adult Learner Resources
- Support for recalling basic school subjects like math, reading, writing, and critical thinking
- Test prep for ASVAB, TABE, U.S. Citizenship, TEAS, HESI, GED, HiSET, TASC
ESL
- Support for beginning, intermediate, and academic ESL reading, writing, and grammar
- College application and college readiness information
- TOEFL test prep

Click on "Tools for Learners" then "LEAP Learning Platform"

Brainfuse LEAP Learning Platform contains a combination of test preparation, skills assessment, and personalized learning plan.
You need to create a personal login to access these resources.

Begin by taking a practice test in the area you want to study:
- ACT English, Math, Reading, or Science
- College Readiness Math, Reading, or Writing
- GED Math, Reading Comprehension, Writing, Science, or Social Studies
- SAT
LEAP uses the results of your practice test to create a personalized learning plan of specific lessons, quizzes, and online tutoring for the skills you need to work on the most.
After working through the suggested lessons, you can retake the practice tests if you choose.

Click on "Job Tools" at the top of the page, then select from the several job resources listed.

Brainfuse provides a wide selection of different tools and services for career exploration and job searching.
On the Brainfuse homepage (link above) there are information boxes for "Live Job Coaching" and "Resume Lab". Each of these services connects you online with a job coach expert who can:
- review your resume and help with formatting
- help you prepare for an interview
- help you with your job search.
Other resources include:
- resume templates
- resume creation software
- interview tips
- eParachute, which helps you discover college majors and careers that match your skills and interests

Brainfuse contains a collection of unique tools to support U.S. military veterans:

Expert Help menu item on the Brainfuse site includes a "Live Veteran Navigator", which connects you online with an expert knowledgeable about veterans' resources and benefits.
VA Support Tools menu item contains many links to national and local resources for veterans and their families