Kirkwood Library: Nursing: Nursing Research

Nursing Databases

ScienceDirect Health & LIfe Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To access a quality collection of journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines.
- What's included? Contains over 1,000 well-respected journals in the fields of: Health and Life Sciences; Physical Sciences and Engineering; and Social Sciences and Humanities.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? One of the best single comprehensive sources of nursing and allied health professional and scholarly articles.
- What's included? Hundreds of nursing and allied health journals included.
Database allows 8 users at a time. If you cannot access, wait and try again.
Films on Demand: Nursing Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To locate streaming videos to support nursing students.
- What's included? Videos to help nursing students with their studies, their licensure exams, and preparation for job success. Includes core clinical skills, patient care and interventions, nursing foundations, and more.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations, and theses. You'll be linked to the full text if the library subscribes to the journal or if it's from an open access journal.

Health and Wellness (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For accurate and authoritative information on a wide range of health-related issues.
- What's included? Articles on health topics such as current diseases and disorders; and traditional and alternative treatments and practices. Encyclopedias, magazines, and journals are all included, making this accessible for all levels of researchers.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For easy to understand articles on consumer type health topics.
- What's included? Articles from health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For authoritative journal articles on health and medical topics.
- What's included? Large collection of scholarly journal articles on subjects relevant to nursing and allied health practitioners and students.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For quick and dependable medical information for consumers.
- What's included? Overviews of health topics, diseases and disorders, pharmaceutical drugs, and medical tests, written for consumers.

MedlinePlus: Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Merck Manual, The This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For quick and reliable medical terminology definitions.
- What's included? Information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
Ovid Nursing Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For full text access to a select group of nursing journals.
- What's included? This small database contains 22 nursing journals, including: Home Healthcare Nurse, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!, and AJN: American Journal of Nursing.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Access a huge collection of journal articles in the biomedical and life sciences.
- What's included? This is a full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 5.3 MILLION Articles are archived in PMC.

Psychology Databases

DSM Library This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To access the complete, current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR (2022).
- What's included? The DSM-5-TR, several ebooks published by the APA, several scholarly journals published by the APA.
Note, this online edition does not contain page numbers.

APA's Dictionary of Psychology can be accessed here.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? First stop for any research project related to psychology.
- What's included? Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. Large collection of scholarly research journals.

Kirkwood Research Guides

These other helpful guides, created by Kirkwood librarians, may also help you find valuable research information for your nursing projects.

Websites you can trust

Use these sites and know that you are accessing the most reliable information currently available.

CDC: Centers for Disease Control
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the nation’s premier public health agency— working to ensure healthy people in a healthy world.
Clinical Trials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world provided by the National Institutes of Health.
Drug Information Portal: Quick Access to Quality Drug Information
A gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies
Environmental Health & Toxicology
Information on the exposure to hazardous substances and the adverse effects chemical and biologic agents have on human populations is provided by the U. S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Electronic health record Information Resources
The Electronic Health Record search from Medline/PubMed focuses on all aspects of the Electronic Health Record. Subjects include: implementation, attitudes, beliefs and use, data privacy, health data standards and consumer access to the EHR and personal health records (PHRs).
Genetics Home Reference
Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health from the National Institutes of Health.
Health Information Translations: Diseases and Conditions
Health Information Translations provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate.
healthfinder.gov
Healthfinder.gov is a government website which helps consumers find the latest and most reliable information on a variety of health topics.
Household Products Database
Home & Safety Information on Household Products from the National Institutes of Health.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. It brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

National Institutes of Health
The NIH provides leadership and direction to programs designed to improve the health of the Nation by conducting and supporting research.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
This manual covers all the subjects expected in a textbook of internal medicine.
Office of Minority Health
The Office is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.

Evaluating Health Websites

Millions of consumers get health information from magazines, TV or the Internet. Some of the information is reliable and up to date; some is not. How can you tell the good from the bad? The sites listed below will help you to do this.

MedlinePlus: Evaluating Health Information
National Cancer Institute: Evaluating Online Sources of Health Information
FDA: U.S. Food & Drug Administration
Any good health Web site should make it easy to learn who is responsible for the site and its information.
Harvard Insight: A Consumer's Guide to Taking Charge of Health Information
The overarching mission of Harvard School of Public Health is to advance the public’s health through learning, discovery, and communication.
HONcode: Health on the Net Foundation
The Health on the Net Foundation Code of Conduct (HONcode) for medical and health Web sites addresses one of Internet's main healthcare issues: the reliability and credibility of information. The HONcode certification is free of charge. The certification conducted by HON implies a thorough evaluation of websites according to our HONcode guidelines.