Skip to main content

Kirkwood logo

Citation Guides

Guides on everything related to citing sources: MLA and APA style, citing websites, and avoiding plagiarism.

MLA Books, eBooks, chapters

General guidance:
  • In a print book, the information you need to cite is usually found on the "title page" 2 or 3 pages inside the front of the book, and on the back side of that same title page.
  • For an eBook, the first part of the citation will usually be the same as for the print book, then the title of the "container" (in this case the database or other electronic platform) where you found or retrieved it, and the URL. See examples below.
Single Author (p. 26*)

Title of Book. Shortened Publisher Name, Year.

Lampe, Gregory P. Frederick Douglass: Freedom’s Voice. Brown, 2015.

Two Authors (p. 21)

Andrews, Kevin, and Michelle Curtis. A Changing Australia: The Social, Cultural and Economic Trends. Crown, 2014.

Three or More Authors: (p. 22)

Brown, Frank, et al. On the Edge of the World. Harcourt, 2013.

Book with edition information (2nd or later edition, revised or updated edition, etc. (pp. 38-39)

Lerner, Gerda. The Grimke Sisters from South Carolina. 2nd ed., Little, 2013.

Book with editors instead of authors (pp. 22-23)

Smith, John, and Margaret Jolly, editors. Colonial Experience. Macmillan, 2017.

Chapter in an Anthology or a Compilation (p. 30)

Author(s) of Chapter. “Chapter Title.” Title of Book, Edited by followed by the editor’s name. Shortened Publisher Name, Copyright Year. Pages of Chapter.

Deeb, Robert, and Charles D. Brower. “Law and Justice.” American Decades: 1950-1959, Edited by Richard Layman. Gale, 1995. pp. 225-256.

Encyclopedias (MLA Style Dictionary Entry, Columbia College of Vancouver, Canada)

Reid, Donald J. “Alfalfa.” World Book Encyclopedia, vol. 1, World Book, 2015. pp. 345-348.

Dictionaries (MLA Style FAQ)

“Literally.” Webster’s New World College Dictionary, 5 th ed., Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2016, p.726.

eBook (p. 34) 

Forbes, Scott. A Natural History of Families. Princeton UP, 2007. Project Muse, muse.jhu.edu/book/31159. 

Bull, Alvin F. and Sylvan T. Runkel. Wildflowers of Iowa Woodlands. 2nd ed., University of Iowa P, 2009. EBSCOhost eBook Collection, resources.kirkwood.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=325293&site=ehost-live&scope=site. 

* Page numbers refer to the print MLA Handbook, available at Kirkwood libraries.

MLA Literary criticism and other articles reprinted in books

Literary criticism reprints or collections

In much of the literary criticism the library provides, articles have been previously published in other publications.

  • The MLA style citations for these first include information about the original source, then about the "container" source when you actually accessed the article.
  • Remember that the library's databases provide a citation for each article that you can copy and paste, then double check it against these examples and correct any errors.
Examples, in print:

Smith, Annie. Environmental Protection. Mentor, 1990. pp. 34-36. Contemporary Literary Criticism, general editor, Thomas Votteler, vol. 20. Gale, 1999. pp. 23-36.

Wilson, Edmund. “The Ambiguity of Henry James.” The Hound and Horn, vol. 7, no. 3, 1934, pp. 385-406. Short Story Criticism, general editor, Thomas Votteler, vol. 8, Gale, 1991. pp. 274-276.

Example, online from a library database:

Grossman, Edward. “Vonnegut & His Audience.” Commentary, May 1974, pp. 40-46. Edited by Carolyn Riley and Phyllis Carmen Mendelson. Contemporary Literature. Criticism. vol. 5. Gale Research, 1976. Literature Resource Center. /link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/H1100000832/LitRC?u=kirkwood_main&sid=LitRC&xid=3b48fa10. Accessed 9 Dec. 2019. 

 

Home

Hours

Contact us

Library Facebook Library Blog Library YouTube