Kirkwood Library: Library Resources for Music Students: Information resources

Resources for academic research

You can search any of these databases to find great articles and eBooks on topics related to music:

Academic Search Elite
- Why search here? Dependable database with quality articles on a very wide variety of subjects.
- What's included? Magazine, scholarly journal, and some news articles on: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Help video on Academic Search Elite on the library's YouTube channel.
Academic OneFile
- Why search here? Great source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles in a wide variety of topics.
- What's included? Journal and magazine articles in the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Help video on Academic OneFile: More Effective Searching on the library's YouTube channel.
JSTOR
- Why search here? For academic articles and book chapters, archival journals and primary sources. Great for academic research in many subjects.
- What's included? Journal articles, older journal articles, book chapters, and primary sources, with focuses in the following subject matters: Language & Literature, Film Studies, African Studies, American Studies, Feminist & Women’s Studies, Arts & Sciences, Business, Life Sciences, and Public Health.
Oxford Academic Journals
- Why search here? To access a wide variety of academic subjects covered in high quality academic journal articles.
- What's included? A complete collection of articles from over 500 journals published by Oxford University Press, over 80 of these titles are open access. A wide variety of academic subjects are covered.
EBSCOhost eBooks
- Why search here? Search a huge collection of academic ebooks all in one search. Get a depth of information not often found in articles.
- What's included? Close to 200,000 ebook titles from a variety of publishers, on a wide range of academic topics.
Help video on Library eBooks: How to find and use eBooks in your research on the library's YouTube channel.

You can find and view many documentaries related to music in our streaming film database:

Kanopy Streaming Videos
- Why search here? For an extensive collection of streaming videos and films.
- What's included? Contains a wide range of films and television series, as well as documentary videos produced by PBS, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources and more.
- Special Mobile Instructions If you want to view Kanopy videos on your phone or tablet, you are required to download the Kanopy app and follow instructions to log into your Kirkwood Library account.
Our collection also includes Media Education Foundation's Media Studies & Communication Collection.

Use our interlibrary loan service to request articles or books you need that we don't have:

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
by Ryan Strempke-Durgin Last Updated Jan 9, 2025 160 views this year

Locating books related to music topics

You can do academic research, read biographies of famous musicians, and check out song books, all at the library or in our online eBook collections!

WorldCat, linked below, is a one-stop search for books, eBooks, articles, and videos.
To locate print books we have available in the library, just enter your subject, then select "print books" from the filter on the results page. Make sure to note the call number to find print books on the shelf.
Browse for music books in the collection by going up to the 2nd floor of the library and finding the "M" classification area. Ask a librarian to show you the way!

WorldCat Discovery
- Why search here? A great place to start your research, WorldCat is an all-in-one search of the library's holdings.
- What's included? Kirkwood library books, ebooks, and article database content. Select "Libraries Worldwide" on the results screen to search books held by libraries around the country and the world.
Help video on WorldCat Discovery on the Kirkwood's YouTube channel.