Kirkwood Library: English Language Learners' (ELA) Guide to the Library: Reading

ELA level books

ELA books may be checked out the same as other academic and popular reading books. See circulation policy below.

Cedar Rapids Campus Library:

ELA books are on the first floor, near the far right corner, just past the student computers. Ask at the desk for location.

Kirkwood Regional Center at the University of Iowa:

These two databases have translate buttons at the top of the page. These are good places to find background articles for your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Why search here? For background information to get started on your research.What's included? Reliable encyclopedia and dictionary entries on a wide variety of topics. Includes articles from general and specialized encyclopedias, many images and audio files, and over 1,000 videos.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Why search here? For quick reference articles on topics in almost any discipline.What's included? Thousands of encyclopedia articles from the long-standing and reliable Encyclopedia Britannica.

For these EBSCOhost databases, click the "HTML Full Text" link on the left side of the page, then find the "Translate" button at the top of the page.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window Why search here? Dependable database with quality articles on a very wide variety of subjects.What's included? Magazine, scholarly journal, and some news articles on: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Help video on Academic Search Elite on the library's YouTube channel.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Why search here? For access to a large collection of newspaper articles.What's included? More than 860 full-text newspapers, plus many TV and radio news transcripts. Iowa coverage includes: Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier from 2002-present; The Gazette (Cedar Rapids) from 1997-2018; and partial coverage of Des Moines Register content through AP Regional -- Iowa; . Also features many television and radio news transcripts.

The databases called "OneFile" or "In Context" also have translations.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Why search here? Great source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles in a wide variety of topics.What's included? Journal and magazine articles in the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Help video on Academic OneFile: More Effective Searching on the library's YouTube channel.
Health and Wellness (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Why search here? For accurate and authoritative information on a wide range of health-related issues. What's included? Articles on health topics such as current diseases and disorders; and traditional and alternative treatments and practices. Encyclopedias, magazines, and journals are all included, making this accessible for all levels of researchers.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Why search here? For a varied collection of brief essays that debate different perspectives on hot topics.What's included? Brief essays presenting a multiple perspectives or arguments on a single topic. Also links out to selected news and academic articles. Great for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.