Life We Bury, The
Vietnam War
Click the image above for the Britannica Online article on the Vietnam War
Vietnam War Definition
The Vietnam War was not only America's longest conflict but, excluding the Civil War, its most divisive. Beginning in the aftermath of World War II and lasting into the 1970s, U.S. involvement in Vietnam, indeed throughout Southeast Asia, grew progressively from an advisory effort into a major war. Eventually, over fifty thousand Americans and millions of Asians were killed, and the United States spent hundreds of billions of dollars in a failed effort to prevent a victory by Nationalist-Communist forces in Vietnam.
Vietnam War Articles
- Vietnam WarEncyclopedia article with overview of Vietnam War
- 'Thank you! Thank you!': After 50 years, DAV past national commander meets Army medic who saved his life in VietnamPersonal story of veterans reconnecting 50 years after the war
- How the United States got trapped in a war it couldn't winThis article describes why the U.S. became entrenched in the Vietnam War.
- Questioning AuthorityThis article looks at reasons why issues around questioning authority were important at the time of the Vietnam War
- Where all the Vietnam War warriors gone?A personal account from a Vietnam veteran
- He Went to Vietnam at 15, And Was Dead Soon AfterNew York Times article tells the story of the youngest American soldier killed in the Vietnam War
Vietnam War Databases
Use these databases to find information on the Vietnam War:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Browse or search a collection of subject encyclopedias.
- What's included? Encyclopedia articles covering selected subjects, including history and medicine.
- Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To access a unique collection of useful encyclopedias, especially for history and sociology topics.
- What's included? Includes reference sets from Salem Press and Grey House Publishing. Includes important historical primary documents, 1950s and 1960s in America, essays on current topics, financial literacy, Value of a Dollar, Working Americans series, and more.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Dependable database with quality articles on a very wide variety of subjects.
- What's included? Magazine, scholarly journal, and some news articles on: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Vietnam War Books
The Columbia History of the Vietnam War by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231509329Publication Date: 2010-11-26
The Vietnam War: An Intimate History by Call Number: 959.704 W258vISBN: 9780307700254Publication Date: 2017-09-05
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |