Kirkwood Library: Social Welfare and Policy: Journals & Databases

Recommended Databases - General

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles in a wide variety of topics.
- What's included? Journal and magazine articles in the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Help video on Academic OneFile: More Effective Searching on the library's YouTube channel.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Dependable database with quality articles on a very wide variety of subjects.
- What's included? Magazine, scholarly journal, and some news articles on: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Help video on Academic Search Elite on the library's YouTube channel.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For comprehensive reports on current events and heavily debated issues.
- What's included? Reports each cover one topic, with overviews, future outlooks, opposing viewpoints and bibliographies for each.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Access this long-standing collection of education articles and reports provided by the U.S. Department of Education.
- What's included? Journal articles and other reports and articles from education literature.

Films on Demand
Award-winning streaming video platform for students and faculty.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations, and theses. You'll be linked to the full text if the library subscribes to the journal or if it's from an open access journal. If it is not available through Kirkwood's databases, you can request an Interlibrary loan.

Kanopy Streaming Videos
This video database contains a wide range of educational videos produced by PBS, BBC, Documentary Educational Resources and more. Our collection also includes Media Education Foundation's Media Studies & Communication Collection.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This resource from Gale covers today’s hottest social issues. It helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
ProQuest Criminal Justice
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Psychology Databases

DSM Library This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To access the complete, current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR (2022).
- What's included? The DSM-5-TR, several ebooks published by the APA, several scholarly journals published by the APA.
Note, this online edition does not contain page numbers.

APA's Dictionary of Psychology can be accessed here.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? First stop for any research project related to psychology.
- What's included? Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. Large collection of scholarly research journals.

Nursing Databases

ScienceDirect Health & LIfe Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To access a quality collection of journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines.
- What's included? Contains over 1,000 well-respected journals in the fields of: Health and Life Sciences; Physical Sciences and Engineering; and Social Sciences and Humanities.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? One of the best single comprehensive sources of nursing and allied health professional and scholarly articles.
- What's included? Hundreds of nursing and allied health journals included.
Database allows 8 users at a time. If you cannot access, wait and try again.
Films on Demand: Nursing Video Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To locate streaming videos to support nursing students.
- What's included? Videos to help nursing students with their studies, their licensure exams, and preparation for job success. Includes core clinical skills, patient care and interventions, nursing foundations, and more.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations, and theses. You'll be linked to the full text if the library subscribes to the journal or if it's from an open access journal.

Health and Wellness (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For accurate and authoritative information on a wide range of health-related issues.
- What's included? Articles on health topics such as current diseases and disorders; and traditional and alternative treatments and practices. Encyclopedias, magazines, and journals are all included, making this accessible for all levels of researchers.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For easy to understand articles on consumer type health topics.
- What's included? Articles from health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For authoritative journal articles on health and medical topics.
- What's included? Large collection of scholarly journal articles on subjects relevant to nursing and allied health practitioners and students.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For quick and dependable medical information for consumers.
- What's included? Overviews of health topics, diseases and disorders, pharmaceutical drugs, and medical tests, written for consumers.

MedlinePlus: Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Merck Manual, The This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For quick and reliable medical terminology definitions.
- What's included? Information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
Ovid Nursing Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For full text access to a select group of nursing journals.
- What's included? This small database contains 22 nursing journals, including: Home Healthcare Nurse, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!, and AJN: American Journal of Nursing.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Access a huge collection of journal articles in the biomedical and life sciences.
- What's included? This is a full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). 5.3 MILLION Articles are archived in PMC.

Search Terms

ADDICTION:
Substance abuse, Drug abuse, Alcoholism, Gambling, Compulsive behavior, Substance dependence, Internet addiction, Sexual addiction

Here are some keywords and synonyms to help you get started searching for articles in the databases or books in the catalog.

CRISIS INTERVENTION
Prevention and control, Counseling of, Suicide prevention
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
Family violence, child abuse, Intimate partner violence, Partner abuse, Battered women, Domestic abuse
HUMAN SERVICES
Mental health services, Social services, Public health services
INTELLECTUAL DISABILITIES
Mental disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Mental retardation

Social Work Journals

National Association of Social Workers Press
Five scholarly journals are displayed on this webpage. Four of these journals are accessible in full text through EbscoHost. Click on the link below to search within each publication.
Children & Schools
Full text 10/01/2000 to 12 months ago
Health & Social Work
Full text 2/01/1990 to 12 months ago
Social Work
Full text 1/1/1975 to 12 months ago
Social Work Research
Full text 3/01/1994 to 12 months ago