In addition to the archival, historical resources below, you will also find lots of helpful information in the Library's catalog and databases, including Ebsco ebooks searches, Virtual Reference Library and Ebscohost Academic Search Elite.
All resources are searchable by topic. Most may be limited by date.
Iowa specific resources
- Historical Newspaper Archive from CRPL
Access many different newspapers small and large from C.R. and Des Moines. Hosted by the Cedar Rapids Public Library. Accessing articles is free, but requires a login that asks for your name and email and you set your own password.
- Iowa Digital Library
A huge collection of digitized archival material held by different areas of the University of Iowa. Iowa history and beyond.
- Iowa Heritage Digital Collection
Very useful collection of links to all kinds of digitized archival materials from institutions and collections across Iowa. Hosted by the State Library of Iowa.
- Digital Image Archive: Upper Mississippi Valley
Photographs from the Upper Mississippi Valley area of the Iowa/Illinois border.
National resources, news
- New York Times (1851-2007)
This library database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the very first issue. Every page of every issue has been digitized.
National resources, archival and reference
- American Memory Project
Huge collection of a wide variety of materials -- letters, photos, audio, and more. Hosted by the Library of Congress.
- American Decades
*Some tips: Next to the words "Choose a volume" select the decade you want to search from the dropdown menu. Then in the right side column type in the box that says "within publication" enter a specific search term (for example "women", "sports", "war"). Or simply browse the main chapter headings for relevant topics.
Online encyclopedia articles give basic background information on a number of everyday topics (for example: education, lifestyle, work, fashion) from the historical perspective of specific decades in U.S. history.
- Salem History
Another collection of online reference articles related to a variety of topics. Searchable.