A literary analysis of Wilder’s writing process. Quotes heavily from Wilder unpublished autobiography Pioneer Girl.
Constructing the Little House
by Ann Romines
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
The opening chapter gives Romines first hand account of being a girl in Brown's Bookstore for one of Laura's final public appearances. The rest is feminist literary analysis which is important to know to understand it.
Laura Ingalls Wilder
by Janet Spaeth
Publication Date: 1987-08-01
Janes Spaeth creates book-length analysis of Wilder's work. Spaeth approaches the "Little House" series thematically, placing the novels in their biographical, historical, and sociological context to explore how Wilder portrays her life and family, the process of growing up, the westward movement, and the role of frontier women. She examines Wilder's literary techniques; evaluates the enduring appeal of the series in relation to other children's literature; and demonstrates Wilder's influence in shaping a popular conception of America's frontier past.
Little House on the Prairie
by Virginia L. Wolf
Publication Date: 1996-10-11
A book length literary analysis of the single book "Little House on the Prairie" from Laura Ingalls Wilder's classic series.
The Selected Letters of Laura Ingalls Wilder
by William Anderson; Laura Ingalls Wilder
Publication Date: 2016-03-08
An edited collection of letters from Laura Ingalls Wilder.
Laura Ingalls Wilder
by Jane M. Subramanian
Publication Date: 1997-01-30
The Ingalls Family of De Smet
by Laura Ingalls Wilder Memorial Society of De Smet, South Dakota
Publication Date: 1995
Laura Ingalls Wilder and the American Frontier
by Dwight M. Miller (Editor); Ann Weller Dahl (Contribution by); Anita Clair Fellman (Contribution by); Elizabeth Jameson (Contribution by); John E. Miller (Contribution by); Ann Romines (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2002-05-14
A collection of scholarly Wilder papers from the 1998 Wilder conference at the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum.
Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little Town
by John E. Miller
Publication Date: 1994-06-02
A collection of essays comparing the Little House books with the actual history of De Smet, South Dakota.
Little House, Long Shadow
by Anita Clair Fellman
Publication Date: 2008-05-21
A history of Laura Ingalls Wilder fandom and how the books have effected politics and the national mindset.
I Remember Laura
by Stephen W. Hines
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Although it includes edited reprints of Laura's articles, the main attraction is the reprints of oral histories and a section at the end of Laura Ingalls Wilder Mysteries aka what we still don't know.
Laura Ingalls Wilder and Rose Wilder Lane
by John E. Miller
Publication Date: 2008-12-03
A collection of essays by Laura expert John Miller that fit around the concepts of authorship, place, time and culture.
Laura Ingalls Wilder and Rose Wilder Lane, 1937-1939
by Timothy Walch (Editor); Dwight M. Miller (Editor); Kim M. Smith (Editor)
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
A collection of reprinted documents drawn from the Laura Ingalls Wilder/Rose Wilder Lane collection of papers at the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum.
Writing the Range
by Elizabeth Jameson; Susan Armitage
Publication Date: 1997-04-15
A landmark anthology giving the viewpoint of diverse women in the west, twenty-nine essays present women of all races as actors in their own lives and in the history of the American West and locate them in a framework that connects gender, race, and class. Only one article is about Laura Ingalls Wilder, but it's worth tracking it down.
Libertarians on the Prairie
by Christine Woodside
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
A exploration of the role of Rose Wilder Lane's editing and politics helped shape the "Little House" books.
The World of Laura Ingalls Wilder
by Marta McDowell
Publication Date: 2017-09-20
The plants of the Laura Ingalls Wilder stories.
Pioneer Girl Perspectives
by Nancy Tystad Koupal (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
A collection of essays about different subjects connected to the memoir "Pioneer Girl."