Finding Full Text Articles
What is A Citation
A citation is the information needed to locate an article, a book,or other information resource. A complete citation of an article generally includes the following information.
- Author's name
- Title of the article
- Name of the journal where the article appears
- Volume number and issue number of the journal
- Page numbers
- Publication date
When you cite a resource in your research paper, you must format your citation in a certain style. The two most used citation styles at Kirkwood are the APA (American Psychological Association) style and the MLA (Modern Language Association) style. For more information on citation styles, see the Citation Guides.
Below is an exmaple of a ciation of an article in APA style.
Hanna, K., & Decker, C. (2010). A concept analysis: assuming responsibility for self-care among adolescents with type 1 diabetes. Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing, 15(2), 99-110.
Using Journal Search to Find Full Text
Below are the steps to find the full text of an article when you start with a citation.
We'll use this example citation:
Hanna, K., & Decker, C. (2010). A concept analysis: assuming responsibility for self-care among adolescents with type 1 diabetes. Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing, 15(2), 99-110
1. On the Library Services homepage, click on Journal Search in the lower right corner of the screen.
2. Type in, or copy & paste the journal title to the search box. In this example the journal title is Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing.
3. The results screen shows that this journal is available in two databases for a specific range of time. Click on either of the Journal links to access articles in this journal. For articles outside of this time period, contact library staff for assistance with interlibrary loan.
4. Browse and locate the issue you need.
Under All Issues on the right of your screen, click on the appropriate year and then the appropriate volume and issue for the article you want. If the journal you need is available through a source other than EBSCOhost, the way you browse and locate the issue may be different.
5. Browse the content of this issue and locate the article you need.
Click on the PDF Full Text link to download the full text of the article. If the journal you need is available through a source other than EBSCOhost, the way you look for the full text icon may be different.
Frequently Used Databases
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Dependable database with quality articles on a very wide variety of subjects.
- What's included? Magazine, scholarly journal, and some news articles on: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To perform a general search for popular magazine titles.
- What's included? Articles for general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
- DSM Library This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To access the complete, current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR (2022).
- What's included? The DSM-5-TR, several ebooks published by the APA, several scholarly journals published by the APA.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For a varied collection of brief essays that debate different perspectives on hot topics.
- What's included? Brief essays presenting a multiple perspectives or arguments on a single topic. Also links out to selected news and academic articles. Great for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For background information to get started on your research.
- What's included? Reliable encyclopedia and dictionary entries on a wide variety of topics. Includes articles from general and specialized encyclopedias, many images and audio files, and over 1,000 videos.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? One of the best single comprehensive sources of nursing and allied health professional and scholarly articles.
- What's included? Hundreds of nursing and allied health journals included.
- EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Search a huge collection of academic ebooks all in one search. Get a depth of information not often found in articles.
- What's included? Close to 200,000 ebook titles from a variety of publishers, on a wide range of academic topics.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? For comprehensive reports on current events and heavily debated issues.
- What's included? Reports each cover one topic, with overviews, future outlooks, opposing viewpoints and bibliographies for each.
|
Cedar Rapids Campus Library |
If you need disability-related accommodations in order to use the Library, our website, or our resources, please contact the library at library@kirkwood.edu or 319-398-5697. |