Kirkwood Library: Distance Learning: Distance Learning

Welcome to Distance Learning Library Services

Welcome to your online library! We are here to help you find the information you need and use it in your work. If you have any questions or need some help, just ask!

Quick Search

Find Library Resources

Choose from all library databases

Database A to Z list
View all Kirkwood Library subscription databases, alphabetical by title or browse by subject.

Search for articles

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Why search here? Great source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles in a wide variety of topics.What's included? Journal and magazine articles in the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Help video on Academic OneFile: More Effective Searching on the library's YouTube channel.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window Why search here? Dependable database with quality articles on a very wide variety of subjects.What's included? Magazine, scholarly journal, and some news articles on: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Help video on Academic Search Elite on the library's YouTube channel.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window Why search here? One of the best single comprehensive sources of nursing and allied health professional and scholarly articles. What's included? Hundreds of nursing and allied health journals included.
Database allows 8 users at a time. If you cannot access, wait and try again.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Why search here? For comprehensive reports on current events and heavily debated issues.What's included? Reports each cover one topic, with overviews, future outlooks, opposing viewpoints and bibliographies for each.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Why search here? For a varied collection of brief essays that debate different perspectives on hot topics.What's included? Brief essays presenting a multiple perspectives or arguments on a single topic. Also links out to selected news and academic articles. Great for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window Why search here? To access a wide variety of academic subjects covered in high quality academic journal articles.What's included? A complete collection of articles from over 500 journals published by Oxford University Press, over 80 of these titles are open access. A wide variety of academic subjects are covered.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Why search here? First stop for any research project related to psychology.What's included? Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. Large collection of scholarly research journals.

Search for eBooks

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Why search here? For background information to get started on your research.What's included? Reliable encyclopedia and dictionary entries on a wide variety of topics. Includes articles from general and specialized encyclopedias, many images and audio files, and over 1,000 videos.
EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window Why search here? Search a huge collection of academic ebooks all in one search. Get a depth of information not often found in articles. What's included? Close to 200,000 ebook titles from a variety of publishers, on a wide range of academic topics.
Help video on Library eBooks: How to find and use eBooks in your research on the library's YouTube channel.
Project MUSE eBooks and Journals This link opens in a new window Why search here? To locate scholarly works, especially strong in works about literature.What's included? Thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers and articles from over 600 journals.

Recommended research help guides

Research help This is your guide for help in almost any aspect of the research process. Includes videos and tutorials.
APA Citations Helpful guides and tutorials on APA style citations
MLA Citations Helpful guides and tutorials on MLA style citations
Evaluating Web Resources Quick guide on how to determine reliability of information found online.
What Are Scholarly Journal Articles? Explains scholarly articles and peer review in plain language.
How to find and use eBooks Guide on searching, downloading, and printing from library eBooks.
Find Newspaper Articles Search the Library's newspaper database plus find links to many other online newspaper sites.
What is Plagiarism? Lots of help here on understanding what is plagiarism, how to avoid it, and Kirkwood policy.
All Help Guides

Search journals by title

Known journal title search Find out if Kirkwood owns or has online access to a specific journal title.
Journal title browse Browse a complete list of all journals you have access to through Kirkwood Library Services.
How-to video: journal title search
How-to video: journal title browse

Need library material off-campus? No problem!

Are you a distance student who can't make it to a Kirkwood campus or county center? No problem! Kirkwood Library Services is here to help, regardless of your location!

You can access most information online through our Library WorldCat search, and through our online databases. Just have your k number and password ready to enter:

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? A great place to start your research, WorldCat is an all-in-one search of the library's holdings.
- What's included? Kirkwood library books, ebooks, and article database content. Select "Libraries Worldwide" on the results screen to search books held by libraries around the country and the world.
Help video on WorldCat Discovery on the Kirkwood's YouTube channel.

All Kirkwood Databases

We also deliver print books and interlibrary loan books to all of Kirkwood’s seven-county centers (Benton, Linn, Jones, Iowa, Johnson, Cedar or Washington counties). Follow the directions below to hold a book that's checked out, or deliver a book to a different location:

See our Center Delivery guide for even more information on services and resources for our off-campus students.